How to Travel

  1. Step 2

    Contact

    Message hosts by clicking the blue 'Contact Me' button below their profile photo. Ask any questions you might have, and confirm availability. We recommend messaging multiple hosts, and we make it easy to reuse the same message. Your personal contact info is kept private until after your reservation has been made to protect your privacy and keep you safe.

    Learn More
    • Profiles

      It's a good idea to fill out your profile before you start contacting hosts as many hosts prefer to learn about potential guests. The fastest way to fill out your profile is to connect your Facebook account. You can also edit your profile by clicking the down arrow next to your name all the way at the top of the screen, selecting Profile, and clicking on Edit Profile. Some hosts require complete profiles, so if you haven't done so already you might get asked to upload a photo, add a description, or more when you try to message them.

    • Communicating

      Airbnb keeps direct contact information private until after a reservation is accepted to protect everyone's security and privacy. But we make it easy for hosts and guests to contact each other with built in messaging and Voice Connect. Voice Connect allows hosts and guests to talk on the phone in a private call through the Airbnb system. Click the blue 'Contact Me' button below the host profile photo to send a message. There you can choose to allow the host to call you between 9am and 9pm in your time zone using Voice Connect. If you'd like to talk on the phone just ask if the host can call you in a message.

    • Preapprovals & Special Offers

      If you've been messaging a host, they can pre-approve your stay and even make you a special offer. If a you receive one of these offers in a message, clicking 'Book It' will take you straight to the payment form and confirm your reservation right away - no waiting necessary.

  2. Step 3

    Book

    Click the green 'Book It' button on a listing to send the host a formal reservation request. The host will then have 24 hours to respond. (If the host does not respond in that time, the booking expires.) If you see a listing labeled 'Instant Book,' that means there is no messaging or approval needed. In this case, clicking 'Book It' will confirm your reservation immediately.

    Learn More

    When a host accepts your reservation request, you will be notified by email and provided with a receipt, an itinerary and the direct contact details of your host including the exact address of the listing.

    After your host accepts your reservation, you'll be charged for the stay. However, Airbnb will hold on to your money until 24 hours after your check in date, giving you an opportunity to see your accommodations and make sure they're up to scratch.

    • Reservation Requests

      It's a good idea to fill out your profile before you start contacting hosts as many hosts prefer to learn about potential guests. The fastest way to fill out your profile is to connect your Facebook account. You can also edit your profile by clicking the down arrow next to your name all the way at the top of the screen, selecting Profile, and clicking on Edit Profile. Some hosts require complete profiles, so if you haven't done so already you might get asked to upload a photo, add a description, or more when you try to message them.

    • Payments

      After you click 'Book It,' you'll be asked for your payment information. After filling out your payment details a reservation request will be sent to your host, who then has 24 hours to accept your reservation. Once a host accepts your reservation you will be charged for the reservation, including any fees. However, Airbnb will hold on to your money until 24 hours after you check in, so you have a chance to make sure the accommodations are up to scratch.

    • Confirmation

      Your reservation is not final until your host accepts your reservation. Hosts have 24 hours to accept a reservation request or it will expire. After your host accepts your request you will receive a confirmation email, a receipt, an itinerary, and the direct contact information of your host, including the exact address of the listing. You can always access all of this information by going to 'My Trips' within your dashboard.

    • Security Deposits

      Hosts have the option to add a security deposit to their listings to cover things like wine stains and broken dishes. If your reservation includes a security deposit, we will pre-authorize your payment method for the amount of the deposit 24 hours before your arrival date. Hosts have 48 hours after you leave to file a security deposit claim with Airbnb. We will mediate claims if necessary, or release the funds authorization if we don't hear from the hosts.

  3. Step 4

    Travel

    Your vacation is so close you can almost taste it! But well before you hit the ground, contact your host to confirm arrival times and key exchanges. You can always find all the details of your stay, including host contact information, under 'My Trips'.

    Learn More
    • Arrivals

      After your reservation is accepted, we'll provide you with the direct contact information for your host, including the exact address of the listing. Before you leave for your trip, it's important to contact your host and confirm your arrival time and coordinate the key exchange. Contact details can be accessed under 'My Trips' in the dashboard.

    • Mobile

      Get access to all your trip details on the go by downloading our iPhone and Android Apps, or by using our mobile website at m.airbnb.com.

    • Alter or Cancel

      You can alter or cancel trips within your 'My Trips' dashboard. You and your host can make adjusts to your reservations, like extensions or additional guests, if you both agree to them. You may cancel your reservation at anytime and Airbnb will uphold the cancellation policy for your reservation.

    • Review

      After your stay, don't forget to leave a review! Reviews are the backbone of Airbnb and each one makes our marketplace stronger. You can leave public reviews and provide private feedback to your hosts. After your check out date you'll receive an email and a dashboard notification requesting a review.

Looking for more info?