How do I cancel my reservation as a guest?

We understand that unexpected situations can sometimes prevent you from taking a trip that you’ve already planned. If you’re unable to change the dates of your trip and need to cancel, it’s important to do so as soon as possible.

To cancel:

  1. Click your name in the top-right corner of airbnb.com
  2. Select Your Trips
  3. Next to the reservation you want to Cancel, click Alter or Cancel

When you cancel your reservation, you’ll be recorded as the party responsible for initiating the cancellation in our system. Because of this, your host’s cancellation policy will apply and you'll be refunded accordingly. If you’re eligible for a full or partial refund, the funds will be automatically credited to the payment method you used when booking your reservation—any additional refunds are at the discretion of your host.

To check your host’s cancellation policy, go to Your Trips, find the reservation you need to cancel, and click Itinerary.

If you’d like to learn more about situations that may be eligible for a refund outside of your host’s selected cancellation policy, please see our Help Center article on extenuating circumstances.

Was this helpful? Yes No
Thank you for your feedback!
Got it, thanks! We'll use your feedback to improve our help articles.