Suggestions will show after typing in the search input. Use the up and down arrows to review. Use enter to select. If the selection is a phrase, that phrase will be submitted to search. If the suggestion is a link, the browser will navigate to that page.
How-to • Host

Cancel a reservation as a host

We understand there are times when you may need to cancel a stay, service, or experience that guests have already booked.

Cancel reservations the right way

If you can't honor a reservation, cancel it promptly from your Today tab—then send your guest a courtesy message. It's your responsibility to cancel as soon as possible so your guest can make other plans.

Don't ask or encourage your guest to cancel on your behalf. Doing so may result in consequences under our Ground rules for home hosts, Host cancellation policy for homes, and Host cancellation policy for services and experiences.

How to cancel a reservation as a host

Cancel a reservation on desktop

  1. Click Today and then click Upcoming to show reservations that haven’t yet started
  2. Click to select a reservation
  3. Click the three dots at the top of the page
  4. Under Manage reservation, click Cancel reservation
  5. Select your answers to the questions that follow, and click Next
  6. Review and click Confirm cancellation

What happens when you cancel a home reservation

If you cancel your guest’s reservation, they’ll be notified immediately via email and sent rebooking options similar to your listing. You won’t receive a payout for the canceled reservation, and your guest will be given a full refund.

What to do if the trip is about to start, has already started, or if you and your guest mutually agree to cancel

Canceling a reservation within 24 hours of check-in, or after a trip has started, is a special situation—you’ll need to contact us for help with that.

If your guest asks to cancel and you agree to provide them a refund beyond what they are due under your listing’s cancellation policy, please contact us for assistance in processing that cancellation.

Canceling a service or experience as a host

When you cancel a service or experience reservation, it'll be canceled for all guests. If you need to cancel the service or experience for specific guests, contact us to cancel for the selected guests.

Cancellation fees and other consequences

Canceling a guest's reservation can have serious implications for their trip, so we may impose fees and other consequences. Learn more about these in the Host cancellation policy for homes and Host cancellation policy for services and experiences.

We will waive the fees and, in some cases, the other consequences, if you cancel because of a major disruptive event or certain valid reasons beyond your control.

Did this article help?

Related articles

Get help with your reservations, account, and more.
Log in or sign up