How-to • Guest

What happens to your payment when a home reservation request is declined or expires

If your home reservation request is declined by the host or expires, the authorization placed on your payment method will be removed. Or, if your payment method was already charged, you’ll be refunded.

Payment hold or authorization will be removed

When you submit a home reservation request, we may place a hold on your payment method, called an authorization, for the full amount of the reservation.

When your home reservation request is declined or expires, the authorization will disappear or appear as a refund on your payment method. The release of the authorization may take up to 5 business days, depending on the processing time of your bank or financial institution.

Charge will be refunded to your payment method

Some payment methods or locations require the full amount of the home reservation to be charged when you submit a reservation request.

When your home reservation request is declined or expires, we’ll send your refund right away. How long it takes for you to receive the money depends on your bank or financial institution. Find the common refund timelines.

If your home reservation request is accepted by the host

If the host accepts your home reservation request, your reservation is confirmed. Any authorization on your payment method will become a real charge and the amount will be deducted from your payment method. If you were already charged, the charge on your payment method will remain.

Did this article help?

Related articles

Get help with your reservations, account, and more.
Log in or sign up