Suggestions will show after typing in the search input. Use the up and down arrows to review. Use enter to select. If the selection is a phrase, that phrase will be submitted to search. If the suggestion is a link, the browser will navigate to that page.
How-to
Host

Create scheduled messages and send them to guests automatically

Want better communication with less effort? Use scheduled messages to save time by automatically sending messages based on triggers like a new reservation, check-in, or check-out.

Personalizing templates with shortcodes

The templates can be personalized with shortcodes, which are placeholders you can choose that automatically fill in guest, reservation, and listing details. You can access shortcodes through a drop-down menu when you compose a message. You’ll also have to add the corresponding information for each shortcode in your listings, such as check-in and checkout times, or else the shortcode will display as unavailable in the message.

Scheduled messages

Common use cases for scheduled messaging and shortcodes (indicated in bold) include:

Sending a thank you message shortly after booking

  • Dear guest first name, thank you for confirming your reservation
  • I am excited to welcome you on check-in date on or after our check-in time, which is check-in time
  • As a reminder, here are our house rules: house rules

Sending a check-in reminder a couple days before the trip starts

  • The listing is at address and here are the directions: directions
  • The wifi network is called wifi name and the password is wifi password
  • Let me know if you need any advice about city

Sending a checkout reminder the morning before the trip ends

  • Quick reminder that checkout is tomorrow (checkout date) any time before checkout time
  • As a reminder, your confirmation code is confirmation code

Shortcodes

The full list of shortcodes includes:

  • Guest’s first name
  • Guest’s last name
  • Guest’s phone number
  • Check-in date
  • Check-in time
  • Checkout date
  • Checkout time
  • Total trip price
  • Average nightly price
  • Cleaning fee
  • Listing name
  • Listing address
  • Listing city
  • Wi-fi name
  • Wi-fi password
  • Confirmation code
  • Directions
  • Check-in Instructions
  • House Rules
  • House Manual
  • Guidebook
  • Getting around
  • Guest Access
  • Guest Interaction
  • Guest city
  • Guest country
  • Neighborhood
  • Number of guests
  • Number of nights
  • Number of bathrooms
  • Number of bedrooms
  • Number of beds
  • Primary host first name
  • Primary host last name

You can always choose to skip, customize, or send messages early, and you’ll be able to review a full timeline of every message sent for each reservation.

If you want to send these templates manually instead of automatically, learn more about quick replies.

Create a scheduled message 

When you create and schedule a message for a listing, it will be applied to current and upcoming reservations. Scheduled messages are sent in the listing’s time zone. Also, setting the language of the template affects how your shortcodes are translated.

  1. Click Inbox, then click Menu
  2. Under Settings, click Scheduled messages
  3. Click + New message
  4. Enter a name to identify the template
  5. Write your message and insert shortcodes to customize it
  6. Match the language settings to your message
  7. Select the Listings this message applies to
  8. Select the action that triggers this message: Booking confirmed, Check-in, or Checkout
  9. Select the time before or after the trigger to send the message
  10. Click Save


Messages won’t be scheduled for last minute bookings or short stays where the trigger time is greater or equal to the lead time.

  • If a trigger is set for 2 days before checkout, but the stay is only 1 or 2 days long, the schedule will be skipped.
  • If a trigger is set for 1 day before check-in, but the booking is made last minute the day before check-in, the schedule will be skipped.

Edit a scheduled message

  1. Click Inbox, then click Menu
  2. Under Settings, click Scheduled messages
  3. Click the template you want to edit
  4. Make your changes and click Save

Review scheduled messages for a specific guest 

You can check past and upcoming scheduled messages by reviewing the guest’s message thread and the scheduled message thread dialog.

  1. Click Inbox, and select the message thread with the guest
  2. Next to the message compose box, click the scheduled messages icon with a clock


You’ll get a list of all scheduled messages that have been sent or skipped, as well as messages that will be sent in the future. If a guest has multiple reservations, each reservation’s timeline is collapsible.

Make changes to a scheduled message before it's sent

You can skip, send early, or modify the content of an upcoming scheduled message before it’s sent—without changing the template.

  1. Click Inbox, and select the message thread with the guest
  2. Click the scheduled messages icon next to the message compose box
  3. Select the message to Edit, or click Skip, or Send now

Remove a scheduled message from a listing

  1. Click Inbox, then click Menu
  2. Under Settings, click Scheduled messages
  3. Click the template you want to remove the listing from
  4. Go to Listings and click Edit
  5. Deselect the listings and click Save


Delete a scheduled message for all listings

Deleting a template will remove all future unsent scheduled messages for all listings related to the template.

  1. Click Inbox, then click Menu
  2. Under Settings, click Scheduled messages
  3. Select the template you want to delete
  4. Scroll to find and then click Delete template

Hosting with a team or co-host

If you host with a team, team members with guest management permissions will share the same set of scheduled messages, and all messages will be sent from the team owner. Any of the team members will be able to skip and edit upcoming scheduled messages, and create new templates that can be used by the team. Any saved messages you previously created will now be accessible in your team’s shared inbox.

If you host with a co-host, your co-host can access your scheduled message history and upcoming message list from each conversation’s message thread, and will be able to skip and edit upcoming scheduled messages. Your co-host will also be able to apply their own templates to your listing, but they won’t be able to view or edit your templates.

Did this article help?

Related articles

  • Host

    Create and send quick replies to guests

    Hosts can create quick reply templates personalized with shortcodes that dynamically fill in guest, reservation, and listing details.
  • Host

    Confirming amenities

    Guests are more likely to consider a place to stay when listing details are accurate and meet a basic level of professional finish.
  • Host

    What are task templates?

    Task templates allow you to set a checklist of steps and pre-define task settings which you can use when you create tasks in the future.
Get help with your reservations, account, and more.
Log in or sign up