The view from your bed, could it be better?Enjoy our luxurious bamboo poster bed. Dream as you look up through the sky light, drifting into the clouds of sweet serenity.

Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

WELCOME TO THE GREENEST SPOT ON MAUI! “Where your Vacation Becomes a Transformation!”

Whether you're seeking sanctuary, writing the next chapter of your life, or simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living at Maui’s premier eco retreat.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $125
Security Deposit: $500


The space

NOTICE: IF YOU WISH TO STAY SHORTER THAN THE MINIMUM REQUIRED STAY, PLEASE SEND US A MESSAGE. We will accept shorter stays if it fits between current bookings. We do prefer 5 night stays. Thank you.

Operating a short-term vacation accommodation in Maui is illegal without a permit. We have been fully licensed and permitted since 2009 our License number is BBPH0003. Upon Arrival we have to collect the %13.42 Hawaiian Transient Tax.

At Maui Eco Retreat You'll Enjoy:
Directly next to the ocean
Beautiful hiking trails
Waterfall lagoons
Romantic setting
Only 15 minutes from town
Sunrise views
Yoga and meditation classes

This listing features our elegant and cozy Bamboo Temple. Our Bamboo Temple is both unique and historic. It is the first permitted bamboo structure in the entire United States. Built in the shape of a nautilus, this geometric form evokes tranquility and sacredness. Stone staircases lead to a large deck, and expansive windows looking out to the sea and the famous Hana coastline. The bamboo ceiling features a rooftop prism shaped window which crowns the centerpiece of the room, the bed. We are pioneers in researching sustainable lumber, the path to a ecological sustainable future.

From the bed, you can gaze at the stars at night or watch the sunrise over the ocean. This incredibly romantic shelter, which features a full kitchen equipped with gas stove, huge closet, and very private outdoor shower, is the perfect place for honeymooners from around the globe. Come celebrate your new adventure or find peace and solitude in this rejuvenating and ground-breaking haven.

*ONLY FITS 2 PEOPLE - thank you

*Please note that our offices are closed during the weekend and our normal business hours are M-F 10am-2pm Hawaiian Standard Time. We are a small family owned retreat and will always respond to your request as soon as we are able. Please do not send requests over the weekend, we will not be able to reply and will have our response time penalized due to this.
We greatly appreciate your understanding. Mahalo.

All of our buildings are ecologically built and are often adorned with spiritual art and hand-crafted masterpieces from Pacific and Asian countries. All our rooms have ocean views, and we are surrounded by lush jungle, ponds, flower gardens, fruit trees, and a nearby waterfall (reached by a short downhill climb) which flows into natural pools for swimming from which you can gaze upon the breath-taking view of the valley.
Our land is a wonderful place to wander and explore: you can take a short walk passing the chickens, the homes of our bees, countless species of flowers and plants and stop by our temples, where you can rest, relax and meditate. For the adventurer, our ocean trail is a moderately challenging cliff trail and the hike takes about a half an hour to get down to the ocean. You will enjoy the wild beauty and the untouched nature of this piece of rural Maui, which is occasionally visited by dolphins and turtles, and in the wintertime, the whales can be spotted breaching from the rooms. But be sure to prepare with a good pair of hiking shoes, some snacks and feel your feet, the trail can be very slippery after a heavy rain.

Location: We are on the North Shore of Maui's sunrise, just 40 minutes north/east of Kahului airport, and 30 minutes from Paia Town (on the way from the airport), which has lots of great restaurants and boutiques, a large health-food grocery store, internet cafés, bank, ATMs, post office, and lovely public sand beaches for walks or jogs, lounging, picnicking, sun bathing, swimming and surfing. We are in the heart of the island, where you will receive a full of experience of local living and no large hotels and tourism. Nature calls!
Please let us know if there are specific activities or services that you are interested in, and we’ll be happy to get you connected!
If you would like to get married on Maui, Kutira is a licensed wedding officiant by the State of Hawaii.

All of our houses are built to code and we have an official permit by the county of Maui to host guests.

Children: The allowance of children is decided on a case-by-case basis (based on age, space, and location of your vacation rental). You need to have a confirmed approval from our office. If you arrive with a child without our consent, we will not be able to host your stay. Your reservation will be immediately cancelled with no money returned. Generally, we strive to maintain a meditative space and if we are able to do so while hosting your wonderful family, we would love to!

**UPON ARRIVAL**: We will charge you and additional 13.42% tax from the amount you have already paid to AirB&B. (This is the mandatory Hawaiian Transient State Tax of 9.25% and Hawaii State Tax of 4.166%). Our cleaning fee is based on a 5 night stay. If we accept a shorter stay a higher cleaning fee is due as well. Our cleaning fee is likely different during the high-season (December 15th - March 31st) and the summer season (July 1st - August 31st).

Late Arrival: There is an additional $45 charge for late arrivals between 7pm - 10pm and $65 from 10pm to midnight. We are a small family owned business and have to hire an after hour guest-services person to welcome late night arrivals and show you to your room or cottage. If you have planned to arrive before 6pm, and you come later than one hour after you agreed, we have the right to charge a waiting fee of $30. We request a courtesy call if you arrival time has changed, and in this case we will waive your waiting fee until 7pm. Again, thank you for understanding our situation.

Shopping Service For Late Arrivals: Please contact us in advance with a detailed shopping list and we will have your groceries waiting for you when you arrive. The cost for this service is $30 + 10% of the cost of goods.

We also request upon arrival a credit card imprint for potential overuse charges. In order to use our hiking trails, we need you to sign a release waiver.

Once we have accepted your booking we will send you a detailed informational email that will support your stay with us. Important: Please confirm this email as it will contain driving directions to the property and you will need to verify your arrival time.

We are really looking forward to hosting you at our magical place!

The neighborhood

We are EXCITED to announce that as of the 1st of September 2016, after much planning, anticipation and roadblocks to overcome, the badly needed road repair and upgrade has been successfully completed. Mother Nature had definitely taken her toll on our roads! Now with the vast improvements, and thanks to a dedicated road repair crew and the help of local volunteers, the last stretch of the drive to our magical resort is now as smooth and enjoyable as it is beautiful!

We are located in the Valley of the white Owl, the Pueo. We have two old Hawaiian churches. We have a really beautiful guestbook in each room that shares more about the history of this place and the valley we are located in.

Getting around

It is essential to rent a car. It is the easiest way to navigate and see our small island. Our local bus system is very limited and does not pick up guests with luggage and we are not on their bus route. With our confirmation email we give suggestions where to rent a car and where to stop to shop before you come out to our location.

Car Rental Recommendation: the last 0.5 miles, (0.8 km), are on an unpaved road. The owner drives a small Toyota Prius and the majority of our guests rent compact cars. However, if you are not familiar with back country roads you may be more comfortable renting a Jeep. Regardless of car size, everyone has always arrived safely to our land.

Other things to note

Our office is open Monday-Friday from 10am-2pm (Hawaii standard time). We are unable to respond to inquiries over the weekend but will get back to you first thing Monday morning! We are a permitted Bed and Breakfast.SUP BBPH . Our Tax ID is .


Permit SUP2 2007/0005 BBPH 2009/0003

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
Check in is anytime after 3PM

No smoking indoors. Quiet time after 10pm. Kitchen must be cleaned after each use. We encourage our guests to conserve electricity and water.
We operate on solar energy from panels installed on our buildings, our water is pumped directly from our own well, and we live sustainably and self-sufficiently from the land through organic farming. We have a short welcome procedure that will inform you how to embrace a sustainable lifestyle including what your chicken's like and what is recyclable etc..
Check in time is from 3pm to 6pm. Late arrival have a late check in fee.

We are family owned small place and we are not prepared to host small children. Welcome to the new Eco-Conscious way of living and traveling elegantly green!



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

5 nights minimum stay

45 Reviews

Check In
Gareth User Profile
April 2017
This is a hugely unique experience that really does help ground you - taking away the clutter of a busy world and allowing you to just enjoy the simplicity of Mother Nature. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to get off the grid and recharging in a natural environment.
Kutira & Raphael User Profile
Response from Kutira & Raphael:
Aloha Gareth! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thoroughly enjoyed having you as a guest. We hope to welcome you back on day! Your Friends at Maui Eco Retreat
April 2017

Erika User Profile
March 2017
The Maui Eco Retreat is a unique getaway at the end of a dirt road 3.5 miles away from Haiku center. The Bamboo Temple has a great view of the ocean, is very quiet and comfortable. It is a circular structure, very interesting bamboo architecture, with a shower outside. There are other structures on the property including a main house with rooms for rent, and owners and volunteers live on site. The bed was very comfortable. There are lots of geckos as this is Hawaii. They cackle at night so bring earplugs if that will wake you up. The kitchen has just enough to cook, stove & fridge, but there is nothing extra in the house- you have to rent beach towels for $3 a day, nothing else for the beach is provided, no cooler. Also the ad is misleading in that there is no wifi or cellphone available in the hut at all. You have to walk up a path to the main house to use it. Some people may want to be offline but this should be stated clearly. There are also some odors due to the compost bucket which can be fed to the chickens and washed out, and a little bit of mustiness in the hut also- best to keep windows open to circulate the air. Shower is outside. Use only the hot water faucet and you will have hot water. The bath towels smelled a bit sour even when clean- I think the soap being used is maybe weak. We used our own dish soap. If you need something you can go up to the main house to ask someone for it. We liked the location on the island- good for exploring either way. The hut itself is rustic so you need to be prepared for that. There are yoga and other classes offered for a small fee. Also there are two trails with amazing views but you need good footwear and to be prepared for a physical challenge. Both trails are steep and you need to use the ropes to rappel down some mountainsides. Very worth it for the waterfall and ocean experiences.

Arjan User Profile
February 2017
Gorgeous, great people, outstanding land and view. Highly recommended.

Maria User Profile
February 2017
Beautiful place surrounded by an even more beautiful nature. Very peaceful, spiritual and quiet. A unique place for sure!

Zach User Profile
February 2017
Amazing location! What a beautiful property and ocean view from your bed! Very private, quiet, spiritual and "off-the-beaten path." The bamboo temple is a little rustic, but still very comfortable despite sharing it with little geckos :)

Nisha User Profile
January 2017
If you're looking to get away from the daily rut and re-connect with yourself, your partner and the nature, this the perfect place! This place is very secluded and has the most beautiful view from the bamboo temple making the getaway very romantic. Kutira & Raphael have really put in a lot of efforts to maintain the property and make it self sustainable. It takes you back to the old roots of living mindfully and making sure you only take what you NEED from the earth. It helped me re-connect with nature again! The property is attached to the state park and has scenic hiking trails. Make sure to carry good hiking shoes as the paths are not very well maintained. Overall, I loved staying at this place. My holiday in Maui was very different than any other beach holiday I have been on thanks to this place.

Carrie User Profile
December 2016
Well, We understood this retreat is in the jungle but it still needs a lot love. First of all, the place is very smelly and it seemed like dead animals around the temple. For the first two nights, we slept on a unclear sheet and my body got bites all over my legs and arms. :( I didn't want to come back to the retreat and booked another hotel for the third night. However we didn't want to waste our money so we called the owner to discuss. They understood our concerns and tried to clear it and change the sheet right the way. Even they responded the calls and fixed it but I still feel that it's over priced and I won't recommend and go back agin :(
Kutira & Raphael User Profile
Response from Kutira & Raphael:
Aloha Dear Carrie, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay on Maui. We have not heard anything but great reviews from our previous happy guests who enjoyed our Bamboo cottage and its breathtaking ocean view and surroundings. You did get quite a few rainy days (it has been the rainiest Christmas season we have unusually had in years), and we are sure this also contributed to the “smell” you sensed in the cottage. The jungle’s humidity tends to build up in confined spaces, which could have been solved by simply leaving some windows open through the day while you were gone. We strive to offer the cleanest possible standards, which in a jungle like environment, involves 3 times as much cleaning and upkeep, as we coexist with living nature on a daily basis, and this is one of the aspects our guests appreciate the most while looking for alternative off-the-grid options for their Maui experience. We are truly sorry that our little peace of paradise, as some guests have described it, was not a good fit for your needs.With all of that said we can happily report that most of our guests enjoy their stay and have a loving, unforgettable experience. As always, we shoot for 100% guest satisfaction and take any constructive criticism seriously and without personal offense. We hope you choose to come and visit our piece of paradise that we have carefully maintained for a long time and received the Platinum Sustainable Award. If your stay is not meeting your expectations, we hope you will give us the opportunity to handle any shortfalls. Finally, in considering your stay with us, please give heavier weight to the 98+% of good reviews we have on Trip Advisor, and the many hand written testimonials is our guest books in each room. We hope to see you soon.
December 2016

This host has 161 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hawaii, United States · Joined in February 2013
Kutira & Raphael User Profile

Kutira and Raphael are the wonderful owners of the Maui Eco Retreat. They strive to provide a sustainable and ecologically friendly retreat for beautiful souls to come rest and appreciate our land. Both Kutira and Raphael are excellent teachers and would be honored to have you as their guest.

We look forward to having you come stay with us!

Response rate: 96%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.