Room in House for Carnaval
Hosted by Evani
Evani is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
3 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
3 baths
You won’t be charged yet

The space

This is a copy of our highly popular guest room, specifically for the week of Carnaval and also for the Olympics in August of 2016.

Please refer to the other listing for better photos - professional Airbnb quality!!

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/121731

Our standard spiel:

Are you coming to Salvador for a week or two and need a place to stay? Want to avoid the chaos of Pelourinho and the high costs of Barra? Interested in staying with a family?

Well, why don't you come stay with us! I am an expat American married to a Brazilian and we have a 6 year old son. Dois de Julho is an historic neighborhood located about 15 minutes walk from Pelourinho, right in the center of the city. We are renting out our guest room, which is on the first floor and has a bathroom right next door. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to take classes at the Escola de Dança in Pelourinho or train Capoeira in Pelouinho or at FICA or ACANNE, both of which are located here in Dois de Julho.

Here at our house you would have access to our kitchen and living/dining room. We have a washing machine, we charge R$5 a load to wash clothing, which then can be hung on the line to dry. We have wireless internet in-house, and a computer available if you don't have a wireless device. Suitable for a couple (it's a double bed). We are not located on the beach, the closest beach is in Barra, which is a short bus/cab ride away. Smokers OK but you have to smoke outside on the patio!

Dois de Julho is an old and historic neighborhood. Jorge Amado, author and one of Bahia's favorite sons, set the novel 'Dona Flor and her two husbands' here, and it was also home to the poet Castro Alves. Once an upscale location, it has ridden the booms and busts of Brazil's economy. A recent, poorly conceived renovation has fallen into disrepair as there is no budget to maintain it. However, the largo is home to many things: our street has two music studios and there is a luthier around the corner - there are performance spaces and a musical venue. There are also lots of restaurants, two small supermarkets, a pharmacy, a dvd rental store, an art supply store, a graffiti supply store, a pizzeria, a dollar store, and several shops selling craft supplies. There are fruit and vegetable stands, a yoga studio, a bike shop, and even a center for traditional Chinese medicine. There are at least three bakeries in operation here. Pelourinho, malls, and movie theaters are within easy walking distance, as are the Museum of Modern Art (MAM) and the Museum of Sacred Art (Museu de Arte Sacra). The largo is home to doctors and lawyers, artists and musicans, but also has inexpensive boarding houses that are home to many people of much more modest income. The largo also has its share of homeless people and dogs, drunks, drug addicts, and assorted troublemakers. The streets are narrow, paved with old fashioned paving stones, and most of them, ours included, have at least one humble bar that can get loud, particularly on the weekends. A friend of mine from New York City who has been coming to Bahia for thirty years claims Dois de Julho as his favorite neighborhood in all of Salvador, due to its unique character and location in the city center. I personally couldn't imagine living anywhere else in the city.

The room is on the first floor, located between the living room and the first floor bathroom. The window lets onto the air shaft in the center of the house. There is a rod to hang shirts and a small, five drawer dresser. The room has a ceiling fan and mosquito net.

If you have any questions please feel free to ask!


Amenities
Internet
Breakfast
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 1PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

No overnight guests allowed. Moderate drinking is allowed, but falling-down, blacking-out drinking is not. No drugs. Daytime guests are okay, but please inform us if someone is coming by. Use of the house computer is limited to one hour per day per guest. WiFi use is unlimited. Guests are responsible for their own safety and security when they leave the house. We do not wear shoes in the house, but this rule is optional for guests.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sumeet User Profile
March 2014
The short version: Basic accommodations, clean, well organized, helpful hosts, working class neighborhood. Good bang for buck. Recommended for the budget conscious traveler who wants an experience that merges staying in a hostel (the set up is basic and you may meet other travelers), a hotel (the hosts are organized and the place is clean), and a host family (the hosts are a family of mom, dad, and son). My friend I rented a private room in Mark's house, which shared a bathroom and was off of the main entrance hallway. The room was private, but noise definitely carried, which wasn't a problem for us because the noises are just those of a regular functioning household. Mark was a courteous and helpful host. They rent rooms in their house regularly, so were well organized and kept the place clean. The house itself was basic with a common lounge/dining area and kitchen. We were told that we were welcome to use the kitchen, which was nice. The neighborhood is a working class neighborhood of Salvador - there are no touristy things around there - but it felt safe and we were able to get into a cab and get around pretty easily wherever we went.

Raquel User Profile
July 2014
•I would recommend to look at the “Street View” in (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) Earth of the area, street and apartment building prior making a decision. Despite the building of the apartment was recently painted, the area is an old, run down and at the time of our visit, we saw garbage in the streets, homeless sleeping in building steps, and bad smells. •Didn't seem like an area to walk at night. •Taxis not easily seen. •There were no easily available parking in the area, and we had to find a space pretty far and walk. •Upon our arrival, there wasn’t anyone to properly receive us despite our communications indicating our arrival time. No one showed us the property, the location of the kitchen or bathroom and its appliances or amenities. We had to ask where the bathroom was. •We have stayed in Airbnb apartment/houses multiple times in 5 continents and we will rate this experience as the worst. For the amount of cost we would had preferred to stay at a hotel in another area of the city, even at the airport. •The breakfast offered (regarded as the best breakfast in other reviews?!) consisted of only juice, bread, cheese, some fruit and jam. The place rents other rooms and sound insulation is non-existing; granted it was the World Cup, but we had a very bad experience trying to sleep when noise was still recurring until 1am, in the public areas of the house (family room/dining room)
Evani User Profile
Response from Evani:
Ouch! Clearly our house was not what Raquel was looking for. Unfortunately I was traveling when she stayed at our house with her husband, it was the middle of the World Cup and my wife was quite busy as we had numerous guests. There is a taxi stand at the end of our steet, visible in street view, less than 100 meters from the house. Raquel sent me an email at 1AM (I was on a plane at the time) requesting that I do something about the noise. According to others in the house, they had no idea she and her husband were in the room and asleep and would not have been quite so festive otherwise. She did not advise the group that she was trying to sleep before 1 AM. When she did come out of the room (apparently after sending the email) she was quite angry and made a scene, after that the party ended promptly. As for the price and the breakfast, we were very competitive in the pricing for what we were offering and "only juice, bread, cheese, some fruit and jam" is simply not correct. I suggest to all potential guests that they read our reviews carefully, apparently Raquel did not do so. When I received Raquel's email the following day I promised to find out what happened and make sure it wouldn't happen again. However, she opted to pack up and leave rather than stay the second night she had booked. Regarding the party in the common area: a) it was the middle of the World Cup, b) my wife was exhausted and asleep during the festivities, and, to be honest, c) if I had been at the house I would have asked them to keep it down or take the party somewhere else. We do not permit loud gatherings in the house as a rule, even during Carnaval.
July 2014

Hrvoje User Profile
June 2014
I stayed in one of Mark´s rooms a couple of nights during the world cup and I was very pleased with that. Mark was travelling during my stay but his wife and her family were more then helpful. The neighbourhood offers variety of shops and restaurants and it´s very safe. I arrived late at night and taxi left me on wrong address but the residents helped me with getting to the house. The accomodation really contributed a great deal for me to feel that I was in Bahia - the land of happiness!

Naoise User Profile
June 2014
We had a really enjoyable stay in Mark's house. Mark and his family were very welcoming. The room was great, the whole place was clean, breakfast was amazing too. Location was perfect within walking distance of Pelo, Arena Fonte Nova and Barra. The neighbourhood was great too with cheap places to eat and drink nearby. Couldn't ask for anything more really.

This host has 240 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Salvador, BrazilJoined in May 2011
Evani User Profile

I was born here in Salvador and wouldn't trade it for any place in the world. I am Baiana heart and soul, I love the city, the music, Carnaval, everything! I work at home and I love to cook. If you are interested I can teach you to make muqueca!


Por motivo de segurança colocarei o Wifi no perfil por motivo de usuários invasivos. (Bosch2003) _Wifi
Network _ (ocelot)

Languages: English, Português
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings