A solid wood small double bed, handmade in 2012 by famous British bedmaker Warren Evans.Your room in the heart of London's glittering West End.
User Profile Image

Double bed in Covent Garden / Soho at Seven Dials

United KingdomEnglandLondon
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
2203 travelers saved this place

About this listing

An ideal choice for the budget-conscious traveller looking for a great-value room with all the benefits of this unbelievable location right in the heart of London's West End. Read my reviews - dozens will reassure you there's no finer spot in town!!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 2PM - 11PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room
Amenities
Prices
Cleaning Fee: $12
Security Deposit: $193
Weekly Discount: 4%
Cancellation: Strict
Weekend Price: $114 / night
Description

The space

This room is perfect for one, and cosy for two, at 92 square feet / 8.1 square metres, with a small double bed (4" x 6"3, 120cm x 187cm), handmade by the famous British bedmaker Warren Evans. It has a floor-to-ceiling patio door that opens onto a Juliet balcony, which overlooks the alleyway. Bedding and huge fluffy towels from the luxury Egyptian cotton range at my favourite department store John Lewis, with both soft and firm anti-allergy pillows, and an anti-allergy duvet. A desk with a huge mirror and dressing-room-style lights above it.

Your room has a kettle with Fairtrade-certified tea and coffee. A fan if you need it, ditto a heater. Huge soft Egyptian cotton towels for the bathroom, toiletries, a hairdryer, and an alarm clock. A guidebook I've written to give you some ideas and get you acquainted with the neighbourhood. And of course, free and unlimited high-speed wireless internet for all of your mobile phones, laptops and tablet devices.

Your room also contains several pieces of furniture from the athletes' bedrooms at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Bought from the official sale after the games, we'll never know who used them - but it's fun to imagine who might have done!

Guest access

If you need more space with an en-suite bathroom, please consider my other listing - to see it, click my name to view my profile, then at the bottom of the left column click "Luxury stay in Soho / Covent Garden".

This is my home, and the bathroom (with toilet, bath and shower) is shared with me, but your room is private, since you don't have to pass through my lounge or bedroom to get there. In general you won't have access to elsewhere in the apartment, so no kitchen or lounge access, but you'll have your own keys and can come and go as you please.

Interaction with guests

I'm very happy to help you kick off your London experience, with a walk around the neighbourhood, a beer or two perhaps, breakfast - whatever you feel like. If you want to keep yourself to yourself, that's perfectly fine too. Just let me know!

The neighborhood

The location - Seven Dials, between Covent Garden and Soho and right in the heart of London's West End - absolutely cannot be beaten. Read my reviews - nearly everyone talks about the location. Guests often tell me I've undersold it, and despite what I wrote they still can't believe the location when they're here. Lots of listings claim they're central. You've found one that actually is :-)

Absolutely ideal for tourists - all of the following are within a ten minute walk: British Museum, National Gallery, Covent Garden Piazza, Soho, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, the River Thames, Oxford Street, Regent Street, Carnaby Street, Shaftesbury Avenue, and all the major West End theatres. Harry Potter fans: The Cursed Child is under a minute's walk away, and visible from my front door.

It's bustling with life during the day, but surprisingly quiet at night - all the nearby pubs close at 11pm and the late-night clubs and bars, whilst close enough for you to easily walk home, are far enough away that there's usually little noise after midnight. Sometimes, in the dead of night, you can even hear Big Ben chiming, over a mile away. It's also very safe, both day and night.

This really is the most extraordinary place to stay - click the Street View tab above to take a look around. I've also highlighted some interesting and useful places nearby - please click the Guidebook icon above. A printout of this guidebook will also be in your room when you arrive, to give you some ideas and get you acquainted with the neighbourhood.

Getting around

You're within a couple of minutes' walk of both Leicester Square and Covent Garden Underground stations - but if you stay here, you probably won't use "the tube" much - you're right in the thick of it all and can walk everywhere!

When you book, you'll receive an automated email with detailed arrival instructions from all London airports and by Eurostar, as well as lots of insider tips - it's well worth a careful read before you get here. I can also organise a licensed minicab pickup from the airport much cheaper than getting a taxi when you arrive. Any questions, please ask me.

Other things to note

I'm a vegetarian and I request that you don't bring meat or fish products into the apartment; furthermore, fur is expressly forbidden, so you cannot bring fur into the apartment. There are dozens of cafés nearby catering to all palates and budgets.

It's thanks to Airbnbers like you that I was recently able to afford an amazing new boiler, with heating on-demand so the hot water never runs out. It's situated in this bedroom, since gas boilers these days must be directly connected to an external vent. It's about as modern and quiet as it's possible for a boiler to be, but you will hear it clicking into life sometimes.

I'm gay, but very straight-friendly :-) I'm a nice guy and I'm happy to help you in any way I can to make your stay more enjoyable. I've lived in central London most of my adult life and I'm happy to advise on things to see and do. I've created a whirlwind two-hour circular walking tour covering many of the major sights that I can send you on (or perhaps even join you on) - first-time visitors to London usually love it. And it certainly doesn't take much to persuade me to join you in the pub!

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 2PM - 11PM.

Remember, this is a small room with a shared bathroom and an alleyway view, a small double bed, and a quiet-but-not-silent boiler. If you need more space with a private bathroom, a kingsize bed and a great view, please consider my main listing instead.

I'm a vegetarian and I request that you don't bring meat or fish products into the apartment; furthermore, fur is expressly forbidden, and if you arrive at my door with any fur you will be refused admission. There is no kitchen or communal areas access, although you have a kettle with tea and coffee in your room.

I will try to work with you on mutually agreeable check-in and check-out times. If you have exact timescales in mind, please agree them with me before confirming your booking. Arrival after 11.30pm (scheduled or actual, and when possible and agreed) is an additional £25. Bag storage and/or checkin before midday, when possible and agreed, is an additional £10; similarly, checkout after midday and/or bag storage for later collection, when possible and agreed, is an additional £10. If you prefer, there are bag storage facilities at Charing Cross station nearby, which you can also prebook online.

Remember that you are responsible for the behaviour of any guest you have in the apartment, and in accordance with standard airbnb terms (as well as English law) you are ultimately liable for the full cost (not just the security deposit) of any loss or damage caused by you or your guests. Use your discretion, and don't bring anyone to my home that you wouldn't bring to your home. Children under 12 are not permitted; if bringing a child under 18 as your guest, please supply proof of your parental relationship. The maximum occupancy is two people including yourself.

You won't hear the neighbours - please don't let them hear you either! Please try to minimise conversation and other noise in the corridors and other communal areas of the apartment block.

No smoking inside, but you can open the patio doors and lean out of them with a ciggie if you like.

Please don't be the first guest to lose your keys! You'll be charged the cost of replacement if you do, which is over £50.

Other than that, please treat the place with the respect you would your own place. And have a great time in one of the greatest cities in the world!

Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door
Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

265 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 239 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Your Host


Kenny

Kenny

London, United Kingdom · Joined in March 2012

Brit, 46, from London, love to travel and have visited 40 countries. I've been hosting with Airbnb since 2012 and I really enjoy it. So far I've hosted over 800 guests from countries including Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, UK, USA and Uruguay. I've also stayed in Brazil, Finland, France, Kenya, Spain and the USA as an Airbnb guest. I'm gay, vegetarian, politically left-wing and I believe in social justice and equality, And I do like a drink sometimes, so if you want someone to show you the pubs of London, you've come to the right profile! I'm a massive Arsenal fan, I go to every home match as a season ticket holder, and if you're here during a home match there's a chance I can get you tickets too given enough notice. Harry Potter's showing at the end of my block, I may be able to help with Cursed Child tickets too. Since 2016 I've been on a massive health kick, I've lost over 55 lbs / 25 kgs, in part by walking five miles every day. If you wanna join me on one of these walks, just ask - I'm always looking for company!

Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
You won’t be charged yet