Chatting in the sunshine outside the studioThe kitchen table, at the heart of the house.
Lovely home in Newtownmountkennedy
Lovely home in Newtownmountkennedy
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our country home in the Garden of Ireland feels like the perfect retreat. Sit back in the garden, go for walks in the woods or simply relax by the fire. Quick & easy access to Dublin, the Wicklow mountains & the sea.

The space

Our house is in the very centre of Newtownmountkennedy, a small village nestled in between the Irish sea and the Wicklow mountains. With quick and easy access to Dublin via the N11 and frequent fast buses, Newtownmountkennedy is the perfect distance to travel in and out of Dublin. We are 5 minutes drive to the sea and 10 minutes drive west to the Wicklow mountains. It is a great area for cycling and walking.

Accommodation
1 Double Bedroom
1 Single Bedroom

The 2 rooms for rent have a small bathroom next to them which has a shower, washbasin and toilet. We provide clean, fresh sheets and towels. You are welcome to use our big country kitchen, sitting room and 2 bathrooms. There is access to a PC wireless internet, fax and printer. There are two gardens you can use. We have a warm wooden-floored multi-use space that you can use for yoga or other exercises.

I live here with my husband. We have 5 children who live away from home but who visit. We have a lovely, gentle dog and a cat. They mainly stay outside. My husband is the local GP in the village and I work part-time as a teacher in the local primary school.

Local Services
The house is close to Dunnes supermarket, pharmacy and bookshop. There is a hotel across the road from the house which has a restaurant and also good bar food. There are chinese & indian takeaways within 50 meters. There are also two pubs in the village, one which serves good food.

Local Area
This area is great for hiking and cycling and there are some beautiful places to visit not too far away one of them being Glendalough which is nestled in the Wicklow mountains. A monastic settlement, it has a beauty of its own with two lakes surrounded by forests and mountains.

Location/Transport
We provide private parking for guests. Newtownmountkennedy is 35k south of Dublin. Our house is in the middle of the village, 20 metres away from the bus stop. The 133 Bus Eireann takes you directly into Dublin city centre every hour. The Dublin Bus No.184 connects the village to Greystones & Bray every 30mins.
We offer breakfast in the morning, homemade brown bread, homemade scones, muesli, yoghourt, fruit, coffee/tea and juice.
On order, I can make you a packed lunch if you are going hiking for the day. This includes sandwiches made with homemade brown soda bread, a fruit and a healthy snack bar. You will also have a bottle of water. The cost is 5euro. Also, if you order the night before, I can serve you with homemade soup, homemade brown soda bread or scone, with cup of tea or coffee included, for 6euro. You can be served this as a light meal in the evening if you don't want to go out. Just let me know in advance!

Guest access

The kitchen to eat breakfast in and the sitting room to sit by wood burning stove.

Interaction with guests

We have plenty of maps here and tips on where to go for a good hike!


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $6
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 5PM - 11PM
Check out by 11AM

We would prefer that the guests don't smoke indoors.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

157 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katja User Profile
February 2017
Staying again at Annicks and Craigs beautiful home was an absolute treat. Annick and her family made us feel welcome and very much at time from the time we arrived. The room was bright, airy and spacious. The house was warm and a lovely retreat from the January weather outside. :) Annick was an excellent host and conscientious to the last. She and her husband offered excellent local recommendations. I would highly recommend Annick's if you're looking for a homely place to enjoy the beautiful surrounds. I loved staying here and will definitely be back .

Lisa User Profile
October 2016
We felt so welcomed with an easy check-in, tea and warm scones, fresh flowers, and such gracious and friendly conversation. This is one of the best Airbnb experiences we have ever had!

Autumn User Profile
October 2016
We had a wonderful time staying with Annick and Craig. They are wonderful people and we really enjoyed talking to them and spending breakfast and evenings chatting too. I feel like we have made some new friends as well and we will definitely try to stay with them longer the next time. The room was beautiful and clean with wonderful touches like fresh flowers and a snack with some tea and water. Annick packed us a delicious lunch for our days out. They also had some great recommendations on what to do in the area. We would definitely recommend staying with them in their lovely home.

Chris User Profile
September 2016
Our experience at Annick's beautiful old style cottage home was more than we could have anticipated from the moment we booked our reservation. From the personal message of welcome and ensuring our arrival time was in order, our stay was like coming to stay with an "old friend" in settings that made us feel relaxed and rested. Our private room and adjacent small bathroom with shower had touches such as fresh picked flowers, lovely cotton linen beddings, reading materials and many personal touches made us feel at home. The warm and inviting country kitchen beckoned us for breakfast of homemade scones, breads and preserves along with beverages and lovely conversation with Annick and her husband Craig. The location is perfect for touring the area and there are small shops and services within walking distance. We hope to visit again and most definitely will stay here.

Terra User ProfileTerra is a superhost.
September 2016
Annick and her family were wonderful hosts. My daughter and I could not have picked a better place to begin our travels! We were traveling via bus with our luggage and Annick's home is across the street from the bus stop. Her lovely daughter showed us our space and served us tea. Annick helped us figure out bus schedules and routes so we could take day trips to Bray, Greystones, and Glendalough. We will definitely return and stay longer. The space was cozy, creative, and comfortable with a separate entrance and private bath. Additionally, Annick spoiled us with homemade baked goodies and a delicious breakfast each morning. Thoughtful little touches such as fresh flowers made us feel at home in our first home-away-from-home.

Megan User Profile
September 2016
Annick and Craig were very welcoming and the accommodations were lovely. We were greeted with tea and conversation. The home was beautiful and full of charm.

Mary User Profile
July 2016
Annick and Craig were so incredibly kind! We enjoyed their company so much. Regrettably we only stayed with them one night, and in hindsight, we wish we had planned a little more time in their lovely home. Everything from the sleeping arrangements to the breakfast the following morning was spectacular. I hope to return one day when we're back in Ireland!
Annick User ProfileAnnick is a superhost.
Response from Annick:
And we so enjoyed meeting you both! So please come back!!
July 2016

This host has 15 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
IrelandJoined in July 2012
Annick User ProfileAnnick is a superhost.

I live in my listing with my husband. We have 5 other children who live away from home but who visit. We have a lovely, gentle dog and a cat. They mainly stay outside. My husband is the local GP in the village and I work part-time as a teacher in the local primary school. We enjoy hiking, cycling,reading and being with our family. We have traveled quite a bit; one of our travels was cycling from Ireland to Gibralter in southern Spain with our 5 children! We love meeting new people and hearing their stories.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings