Bohemian Haven in the heart of New Norfolk

Private room in home hosted by Juliet

  1. 2 guests
  2. 1 bedroom
  3. 1 bed
  4. 1 shared bath
Great location
100% of recent guests gave the location a 5-star rating.
Great check-in experience
100% of recent guests gave the check-in process a 5-star rating.
Park for free
This is one of the few places in the area with free parking.

AirCover

Every booking includes free protection from Host cancellations, listing inaccuracies, and other issues like trouble checking in.
A light-filled welcoming home full of books and art.

Located centrally this turn of the century abode places you within walking distance of everything New Norfolk has to offer; antique & curio shops, cafes, pubs, the Derwent river and the Agrarian Kitchen.
A perfect base from which to explore the rest of the region. Stefano Lubiana Wines & Derwent Estate Vineyard are 10 minutes by car, MONA and the Salmon Ponds are15, Mt Field National Park less than an hour and Hobart an easy 30 minutes.

The space
I am a book-lover and artist and the aesthetic of the house is an eclectic mix of art deco meets cabinet of curiosities with a splash of surrealism thrown in. The rooms are full of beautiful and unusual objects that my sister and I have collected over the years as well as some of our own work. I am a photographer and my sister is a fashion and costume designer. The guest bedroom boasts a collection of hats all made by her and a number of my prints hang in the house.

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom
1 queen bed

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
Free parking on premises
TV
Washer
Indoor fireplace
Crib
Children’s books and toys
Hair dryer
Unavailable: Carbon monoxide alarm

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing

4.96 out of 5 stars from 27 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

New Norfolk, Tasmania, Australia

Everything really is just around the corner!

The house is situated 20m from the High street where most businesses are located. This intersection has a pubs on one corner and another just down from the corner, they both do counter meals and there is a bottle shop attached to each(no issues with noise or rowdiness though).

Another 5m over this intersection is The Drill Hall, the most opulent of New Norfolk's famous antique shops, which is next to another smaller antiques place called New Norfolk Antiques. Just around the corner on High Street are Rose & Sons and 20th Century Artefacts., and across the road the wonderful Lady Strange(curios not antiques). Slightly further afield are the enormous Willow Court Antiques Centre (a 7 minute walk) and the Ring Road Antiques place (about 15minutes away). If you love a bit of a treasure hunt this is the town for you.

There is also a great local market on High street every Saturday morning that seems to be growing every week. It's very unpretentious and there are great bargains to be had, as well as delicious bread, beautiful quality vegetables and cheap as chips plants.

New Norfolk has a smattering of takeaway food places, mostly on High Street, but if you'd rather self-cater there is also a Woolworths right around the corner.
There are currently 6 cafes and I have a more detailed information pack on the quality of their food and coffee in the house (too much detail to add here)
There is a small park/ex-cemetery directly across the street from me and a larger park at the corner, 20m away. A walk down and along the Derwent river is an absolute must while you are here at anytime of year. There are a variety of different walks you can do from 20 minutes to over an hour and I have more detailed information on them at home for easy consultation.

Hosted by Juliet

  1. Joined in September 2012
  • 27 Reviews
  • Identity verified
I'm a costume designer and couturier living and working in London. I'm originally from the beautiful island of Tasmania, Australia which is where I still have my house, cat, art, fabric but most importantly my family and friends.
My job requires that I travel lots and whenever I do I always use Airbnb. The biggest necessity for me when I travel is being able to get a decent cup of tea in the morning :)
I'm a costume designer and couturier living and working in London. I'm originally from the beautiful island of Tasmania, Australia which is where I still have my house, cat, art, f…

Co-hosts

  • Sophie

During your stay

I love to meet new people and am happy to socialise with guests upon request. Just as happy to leave people alone if they would rather. Entirely up to you.
  • Policy number: Exempt: This listing falls under the 'home sharing' exemption
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: 2:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Checkout: 11:00 AM
Not suitable for children (2-12 years)
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events

Health & safety

Airbnb's COVID-19 safety practices apply
No carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy