Standing at the french doors looking back through the apartmentlibrary den with eating area
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Light and roomy, opening onto garden, this apartment is private, quiet and secure. There are 2 sleeping or work areas in the large bedroom, a bookshelf-lined den, kitchen and bath, all separate rooms. Outdoor patio and arbor . Close to downtown and to bike and walking trails.

The space

Only an hour's drive from the Pacific coast, the Cascade mountains, or Portland's many food, brew, literary, hip culture attractions, Salem is easy to get around with plenty of historic buildings, parks and gardens, brewpubs and wineries. From the house you can walk to all services you need or stretch out and cross the river on the beautiful pedestrian bridge. The downstairs suite of about 940 sq ft or +/- 100 sq m includes a large, dividable bedroom space with queen bed in one half and twin in the other. Bath, kitchen, den and garden patio complete the spacious, quiet enjoyment indoors and out. Wi-Fi, offstreet parking. Casual family neighborhood with minimal traffic. Walking distance supermarket, bakery, coffee shops, library, restaurants, ice cream shops, etc. Public transit about 5 blocks away. Good spots for reading, many books and info on local sites and history on-hand. Fresh fruit in season. Travelers offered info and tips in English, Spanish, German or French if needed.

Guest access

Guests have access to all spaces within the apartment, the patio, backyard and garage.

Interaction with guests

I always enjoy meeting guests upon arrival if at all possible p, answer questions and let them know they can follow up when they want. Then I usually respect their privacy unless they want more contact. Sometimes we have long conversations or share a glass of wine, while other guests may chat only at the beginning and end of a visit.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $25
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: $85 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in time is flexible

Quiet requested from 11 PM to 6 AM; no smoking. Except for breakfast foods provided at arrival, the apartment is self-catering. When you depart, please remove your food and leave the apartment as you found it. You are invited to browse the library and read all you want, but leave my books when you go. There is one shelf of trade books that you can add to or take from.
The house washer and dryer available; follow directions.
Let me know if you'd like to share a cup of coffee or glass of wine or even a meal and I am happy to join you if our schedules mesh. Otherwise I assume you'd prefer privacy.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

124 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lisa User Profile
June 2017
Make yourself at home in Sara's wonderfully comfortable home, surrounded by the most beautiful garden. It is the perfect place to relax with a good book. If you don't have one, Sara has an amazing library.

Virginia User Profile
June 2017
This is a lovely place and so comfortable. Sara has thought of everything a guest might need. I just wish we could have spent more time there and with her!

Moira User Profile
May 2017
Sara is extremely friendly and more than willing to share her knowledge of the area and beyond. The apartment is spacious and well kept. Sara provided breakfast supplies and the kitchen was well stocked. This was our second stay with Sara and are looking forward to more stays in the future.

Preeti User Profile
May 2017
I had a wonderful stay at Sara's place! Her home is beautiful and has everything you'll need, including plenty of snacks :). She is also one of the most warm and welcoming hosts I've met. I highly recommend staying here!

Ira User Profile
May 2017
This rental felt very comfortable, I felt very much like I was in my home. The space is very well furnished, and even the colors felt well thought out. Sara was such a delightful host, making sure I had some food items, really nice! I hope to stay here again.
Sara User ProfileSara is a superhost.
Response from Sara:
Thanks, Ira. I hope to pick up the threads of conversations we started.
May 2017

Kierie User Profile
May 2017
I stayed in this apartment while I was in Salem to attend events at Willamette University. The apartment was in a residential area about 5 - 8 minutes drive from campus and the shops and restaurants of downtown Salem, which was perfect for me. The apartment was spacious, comfortable, quiet and peaceful. The host was very kind and gracious, and quick to respond when I had any questions or needs. She provided delicious breakfast items and fresh, organic fruit upon my arrival. I'm a stickler for cleanliness and I found this apartment to be very clean and tidy --- far cleaner than the hotel I stayed at in Portland. If you're looking for a quiet and comfortable place to stay near downtown Salem, I highly recommend this apartment.

Ashley User Profile
May 2017
Lovely spacious home with all the amenities I could want on my business trip and then some. Nice patio and green space to relax in the backyard.

This host has 62 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Salem, Oregon, United States · Joined in August 2011
Sara User ProfileSara is a superhost.

An avid traveler and lover of the outdoors, I teach English to non-native speakers at the community college in Salem. Nowadays I do that parttime, making way for winter skiing, summer hiking , road trips or river trips, music, reading and favorite small children. History, gardening, poetry and literature, food, agriculture are some of my interests. Turkey, Greece, Ukraine, Mexico, Switzerland and France are places I've traveled alone and spent at least 2-8weeks each. In fact, staying in one place while exploring all around suits me better than continuous travel, and that's the experience I'd like to enable as a host. From here, there are so many day trips: to the Pacific, to wineries of all sorts, cities north and south (Portland and Eugene), the Columbia Gorge and Mt Hood, waterfalls and forests, art galleries and museums.
One of my strengths is connecting folks with resources and opportunities. At work, that's been my focus in helping newcomers with cultural adjustment. Helping guests get the most from their time here appeals to me, but I also value independence and privacy, so knowing what they prefer can make a good stay for us both.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.