Peaceful and quiet. Kitchen and dining area.
Cozy, Comfortable Country Cottage
Hosted by Ann
Ann is the host.Ann is a superhost.
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A lovingly restored former servant's quarters, this little house is in a quiet country setting near a musical stream. With a kitchen, bathroom, cozy living room with a sofabed and a welcoming bedroom upstairs, this is a great place to feel God renewing your Spirit. Smoking and alcohol free.

The space

This area was settled in the late 1700's. Both the main farm house and the little house are post and beam construction. The stream which flows around our yard goes under the barn and through the milk house. It was used to cool the milk in times past.

Our dogs have an invisible fence which keeps them in the yard behind the big house. You're welcome to come over and visit with them. They will try to get you to throw their toy all day so that they can bring it back to you. Warning. The dogs are very friendly, but very big and very messy. They play in the stream and then come to greet you both wet and dirty!

Guest access

There are picnic tables, swings, and a grill by the pond. The walk to the top of our hill is definitely a bit of a workout, but the view is worth it!
There is a phone in the little house. Ask about making calls. (Your cell phone may or may not work. Your GPS may or may not work, and (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) maps doesn't seem to be able to figure out where we are.)

Interaction with guests

Let us know what you desire. If you just want to be by yourselves, we'll leave you alone. If you want to have meals with us in the big house, that can be arranged. We love to visit with people, but our first priority is to give you what you need.

Other things to note

Those interested in the horses are able to interact with them with supervision.


Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Shampoo
Heating

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 16%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

This is a quiet place.
No alcohol or smoking allowed at all.
Profanity is not acceptable.
Please dress modestly.
Do not go into the pastures or pens with animals.
Fences are electric so it's better if you don't touch them:) Children should always be with an adult.
Sorry, we don't allow pets.
NOTE: PRICE INCLUDES LOCAL OCCUPANCY TAX.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

50 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jerry User Profile
October 2017
The little house is very quiet and serene. We enjoyed hearing the fall breezes blowing , the little stream behind the house and the horses whinnying in the barn nearby. Everything is provided: blankets, sheets, towels, kitchen stuff. A nice to place to stay.

Alexanadra User Profile
September 2017
I stayed in Ann's cottage labor day weekend for a wedding. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer. The cottage was cute, cozy and comfortable. The scenery was beautiful as well as the land. We were able to walk around for a bit and meet her adorable dog and horse. I loved the cottage and would absolutely go back.
Ann User ProfileAnn is a superhost.
Response from Ann:
We are so sorry we missed meeting you, but happy you enjoyed your visit, and meeting the animals. Welcome back any time!
September 2017

Rachel User Profile
August 2017
Our stay was short but very restorative!! So peaceful and serene. The house has everything you could ever need!!

Mary Pia User Profile
August 2017
Ann's place is clean, it offers all comforts of home. It would be better with internet access and since the views are so nice; an outdoor place to sit and enjoy would be great
Ann User ProfileAnn is a superhost.
Response from Ann:
We would love better internet ourselves. Unfortunately, that's one of the shortcomings of our rural area. What we have is the best we can get at this time. A deck is in our future plans, and of course you can use the picnic tables and things by the pond.
August 2017

Colin User Profile
August 2017
This place is beyond expectations. It was very nice. Quiet, secluded, but close enough to get to where you wanted to go without issue. You're in the country, yet within 30 to 60 minutes from Utica and Rome, and Cooperstown. It's easy to get to and off the path enough to be relaxing. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Becky User Profile
August 2017
Although Ann was out of town, her husband more than made up for her absence. My husband and son really enjoyed chatting with him and visiting with the animals on the farm. He made them breakfast and invited them to join him for church on Sunday. This was their first Airbnb experience and it won't be their last. Highly recommend Ann's place!
Ann User ProfileAnn is a superhost.
Response from Ann:
This was Ed's first time hosting on his own. He thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for being great guests.
August 2017

Alex User Profile
July 2017
We stayed here on our trip to the Baseball Hall of Fame in July of 2017. It's an ideal place to stay for a small group if you're looking to stay near Cooperstown without having to drive back and forth to Albany or pay the high prices for in-town Cooperstown during induction weekend. I would also highly recommend it if you just need a quiet retreat from the city for a weekend to unplug and get back to the basics. Ann and Ed were very polite, welcoming, and responsive.

New Berlin, New York, United StatesJoined in September 2013
Ann User ProfileAnn is a superhost.

My husband and I worked in Africa as missionaries for almost 20 years. We moved to our farm in November 2001. We use the farm as a place to minister to hurting people. We also raise Labrador Retrievers and have several Haflinger horses on the farm. I love horses and have had horses my whole life, even when we lived in Africa. We both enjoy the outdoors. My husband likes to hunt and fish. We enjoy hiking and traveling. We have three children and seven grandchildren that we think are absolutely wonderful!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings