PRIVATE: Floor/Bath./Garden/Parking

House - Private room · Adelaide Street West, Toronto, ON M6J 1A8, Canada
Emil
Your host, Emil
67 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

• Quiet & cheerful room in secluded part of the house, so you needn't walk through rest of the house and see me;)
• Ensuite private bathroom.
• Walk-out patio garden.
• Queen bed, duvet, cotton sheets & towels. Single futon available for extra person.
• Mini-fridge, toaster oven, kettle, coffee maker, dishes, coffee, tea, radio with iPod/iPhone functionality, soap, shampoo.
• Parking - in driveway at front of house @ $15 per day. Please reserve when booking.
• Downtown - King/Queen street west - on quaint residential street.
--------------------------------------------------------
AVAILABLE & FREE
• high-speed wifi
• flexible check-in/out times when available, please ask.
• washer & dryer
• iron & ironing board
• hair dryer
• maps & books on Toronto
• converter for North American/European electric appliances
• morning espresso if schedules permit.

Guest Access

Guests have access to the garden patio directly outside their room where you may lounge & relax with the flowers. The airbnb room is in a private & secluded part of the house where there are no other rooms. It is very secluded from the rest of the house thus you needn't interact me.

Interaction with Guests

I understand some guests want complete privacy and others like to engage and chat. I am sensitive to all guests' desires.
I've invited guests to dinner parties & other social events to offer them a unique Toronto experience.
I am always available in person, text, email or phone to provide information, directions or restaurant suggestions.

The Neighborhood

Downtown - King/Queen street west - on quaint residential street. No other Toronto neighbourhood compares.
The house is less than a 5 minute walk to funky Queen and King Streets, providing many cafe, restaurant, shopping & art gallery choices.
The house is nestled in a quiet residential enclave that provides quick access to the vibrancy around the corner.
--------------------------------------------------------
• 3 MINUTE WALK TO - Queen & King street, parks, public transport, bike rentals, swimming pool, tennis, vegan and vegetarian restaurants cafes/restaurants/boutiques/galleries.
• 20 MINUTE WALK TO - Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO), waterfront, convention centre, Eaton centre, Rogers centre, Chinatown, Kensington market, local theatres, Yonge street, University of Toronto.

Getting around

Public transport going in all four directions is less than 5 minutes away. Or, most destinations are a short walking distance.

Other Things to Note

Parking in the driveway is available @ $15/day. Please reserve in advance.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $11 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $96
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The location is quite possibly the best in the city for a long weekend vacation. The place is lovely, and the patio/garden is an ideal oasis in the middle of the city.

    Emil (email hidden) as well, quite knowledgeable about the city and area. All of his recommendations were spot on, and we are glad we changed our itinerary based on the recommendations. Taking the time to go to "the island" was sooo worth it.

    If you can, check out "Beast" down the street, and get there early on the weekend if you want to try the maple bacon donuts.

    July 2014
  • Couldn't have had a better location and host for our weekend in Toronto! Everything was as described, isolated space with access to the back patio which (email hidden) to end our evenings. Emil was very helpful and communicative while providing us with some good recommendations. We spent most of our time out and about and this was the perfect location within walking distance of the waterfront, Chinatown, Little Portugal, and the downtown area. Found many good restaurants and bars within a reasonable radius. We only wish we had more time to explore!

    July 2014
  • A Gem in the heart of Queen (email hidden) in a lovely neighbourhood, birds singing at sunrise, coffee on the patio one step away from cozy private bedroom. Thank you Emil for for your warm hospitality. It feels like I now have a home in TO :-)

    June 2014
  • Amazing location! Amazing host! Perfect for what we needed! Thanks Emil!

    June 2014
  • My boyfriend and I are originally from the Toronto area and travelled to back for a visit in June 2014. We only needed to stay downtown for one night to visit friends so we were looking for an affordable option. Emil was super accommodating as we needed an early check-in. He was very responsive through text and email and was able to accommodate our request.

    This was our first airbnb experience and overall I think it went very well. Emil's place is great and we loved the garden patio! Only things I have personally overlooked and maybe others would benefit from knowing is that you can hear the walking from upstairs, water running through the pipes in the house and loud children playing/singing/screaming during the morning/days. However, this is not criticism for the host or room, it's just normal / to be expected for a house and you just have to manage expectations and remember that this not a condo or hotel room.

    Since I lived in downtown Toronto for several years, I knew the location was prime - it is really the best location close to Queen West shopping and tons of restaurants. We also used the laundry facility (huge bonus for us) since we had travelled to New York before we got to a Toronto. We only stayed for one night so basically in and out, and unfortunately didn't get to meet Emil in person.

    June 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 33 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    June 2014
  • I can't overstate how pleased we were with our stay at Emil's. The room was exactly as presented on Air BnB, in fact maybe a bit nicer. The private bathroom was nicely appointed and very well stocked with toiletries and towels etc. The patio was put to very good use for a couple of nice evenings with a bottle of wine and snacks, all of which were purchased within 5 minutes walk of the unit.

    For us the location was extremely convenient. It is within walking distance of many great restaurants and shopping and easy transit connections to anything else you may want to do.

    As a host Emil couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly, emphasizing his availability by phone or text for any questions or problems we may have had.

    I would recommend this listing to anyone thinking of exploring the west side of Toronto and it would be our first choice for a return trip.

    June 2014
  • Thank you very much for the stay, the room was great and we had a good time.
    I really liked the fact that it was on the ground floor, next to the backyard garden, it was good to wake up and take a walk outside. The listing was exactly as it was described and there is tons of cafes, restaurants and places to visit in the neighbourhood without having to take a street car or cab. Emil was very nice and even left us some cookies/pastries from a good bakery during our stay. If I ever need to stay downtown Toronto I will definitely ask again. Great location! Thank you again.

    June 2014
  • We spent 2 Nights at Emil's and could not have (email hidden) to stay. Our host was very welcoming and always approachable when needed. The room was very comfy and so quiet one would not think to be in downtown Toronto. Public transport is close by if your feet are hurting from walking the city too much. We can highly recommend this place and will for sure come back!

    June 2014
  • Emil was the perfect gracious host enabling us to have a wonderful visit to Toronto. He provided helpful information on things to do, places to eat, and how to get from place to place, both in conversation and in the wealth of information he had available in the room.
    The room, bath and garden were just as described and were charming, cheerful and felt immediately like home. Emil has furnished the room with all of the conveniences you need during your stay. I especially appreciate being able to park our car and not have to use it at all during our time there.
    The neighborhood was a delight. We could walk everywhere safely and found nearby shopping, dining and interesting experiences. We did, with Emil's help and advice, use the streetcar and subway to reach the Royal Ontario Museum, but we walked everywhere else. We thought the listing was ideally located for anyone who wants to visit Toronto. We were also charmed to be there during a major holiday at the nearby Portuguese church and enjoyed their festival and the large procession which passed immediately in front of the house. It made us feel a part of the neighborhood which was the experience we wished to have.

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$82
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 192 times
Languages
English, Français
Work
Creative
About
• I'm easy going and live my life as stressless as possible. Humour and laughter must be a large part of each day. I enjoy meeting people of all cultures and am happy to socialize with my guests or give total privacy. • I live healthy, eat well, strive for local & organic food if possible and am involved in my community. I am often puttering in the garden or throwing dinner parties. • I spent years working as a property master on films & TV commercials. Later I established and operated a recycling business and a tourism marketing business. • I've taught English & Math to new Canadians for the last 5 years as a volunteer. • I've established community gardens and this year I'm building a new backyard vegetable garden. • Avid Swimmer (I can do 25metres straight of butterfly), Tennis Player (4.0), Inline Skater (frontwards & backwards), Cyclist (I stop for red lights), Walking Enthusiast (I stop for cafe patios), Cook (to share with others), Gardener (I enjoy looking at, smelling, and doing beautiful things) • I have an intimate knowledge of Toronto, it's significant landmarks, cultural neighbourhoods, vibrant restaurant scene, and many wonderful urban secrets. I look forward to sharing my local knowledge with you.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings