• Arie
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 03
  • Facebook
    105 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    23 Reviews
About Me
School
Cobbenhagen College, Katholieke Universiteit Brabant
Hey, I'm Arie!
Utrecht, Utrecht, The Netherlands · Member since August 2011

Originally born in the south of the Netherlands I moved to Utrecht (the heart of Holland) for work 20 years ago. I immediately fell in love with the city and its rich History and still feel like I am a tourist here myself. The house I live in, and that now hosts the B&B is in a late 19th century part of the town.

However there are maps of Utrecht on which there is already an abbey at this location (founded in 1200AD). When building a shed in the garden we excavated remains of walls of the old abbey. The old walls we used to construct a new garden wall. Look down into the garden and see the remains of the old abbey.

I travelled a lot before I had children. Europe, Turkey, South America, Mexico, Africa. In Europe I often went by bicycle. When at home I like to pretend I am on a holiday. For this Utrecht has a lot to offer since there are inhabitants of all parts of the world.

My way of enjoying other parts of the world is mainly through dancing. At this moment I dance Argentine tango and African dance. Other hobbies are gardening and canoeing. For this I have a garden with garden house just outside Utrecht. Here I grow vegetables, herbs, fruit and keep a canoe. From there I can easily go to the canals of Utrecht. From the water you can experience the medieval town that Utrecht once was and go back in time. The canals have been there more than a thousand years and are still there, the way they were originally constructed.

My native language is of course dutch. I also speak english, french, german and Spanish.

  • 23
    23 Reviews