• Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 93
  • Facebook
    457 Friends
  • Reviewed
    154 Reviews
About Me
Bachelor's degree. Ongoing learning of new software tools/apps.
Writer, editor, instructional design and project management. A background in utilities, insurance and IT technologies.
Patsy's Airbnb Symbol

Visit »

Hey, I'm Patsy!
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States · Member since July 2011
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am a social person, with a peaceful home.

I recently have had some neck surgery and have been recovering at a friends home. At this time, I am unable to lift more than 10 pounds. Houseguests and friends have been helping me with the care of the home. I should be at the house more, now that I am recovering from the surgery.

I work full-time from home, as a marketing writer/editor/ instructional designer. I have personally traveled (on an extremely tight budget) much of North America for my son's love of hockey (approximately 270,000 hockey miles). I've also traveled extensively for business at several points (so far) in my career. I've experienced limited travels overseas. I look forward to resuming my own travels at some point.

My goal is to provide a safe comfortable space for you.

I've had two occasions when older women have booked and have assumed that my home is exclusively for females. I do not discriminate who stays in my home based on gender, race, etc. All persons deserve, safe comfortable, accommodations. Acceptance of a booking is based on availability and if I feel comfortable for my safety and the safety of other occupants of the home.


I have several larger (60 to 80) pound dogs and one outdoor cat. Occasionally, an AirBNB visitor may book a stay with a well-behaved pet. This is a pet-friendly home. The dogs are downstairs so as to minimize the dog hair upstairs. I use a series of gated doors to shift pets from one area to another so that a "dog-free" experience is available. My dogs are relatively quiet, but do bark when someone approaches the door and upon meeting new people. Being dog-friendly is helpful.

One of my older dogs likes to hang out in the foyer and watch the cat and watch the world go by from the front windows. He is a pleasant, laid-back fellow and makes an awesome greeter.


Spring and summer of 2014: The home is undergoing changes:
- Upper kitchen cabinets are changed out and the adjacent family room flooring is being worked on during the July 4th weekend and maybe slightly beyond.
- Master bathroom has been re-tiled with vanities and sinks updated.
- The shared middle bathroom has been updated with a new surround, tub, and Delta faucet.
The home features a fully fenced backyard. A full size grill is available on the back deck.
My home is non-smoking, as I am allergic to tobacco smoke. Moderate alcohol consumption permitted.

My neighborhood is in the city, During the summer, at this location you can hear birds by day and the crickets by night.

Turbo wireless internet is available.

There's always good coffee. :) Coffeemakers abound here: A small Keurig, a Tassimo, French Press, a stovetop Italian espresso maker and several percolators. I generally keep Tim Hortons coffee around. Starbucks is less than 5 minutes away. Several other coffee shops are within a 5 to 10 minute drive.

A large selection of tea is also available. I have porcelain teapots, stacking Turkish tea brewer, and good old-fashioned mugs for a comforting cup of tea.

When possible, I will bake or cook a meal for you. It may not always be practical with our travels and schedules. When I am able to cook, I am happy to accommodate special dietary needs.

So why do I host on AirBNB? I truly enjoy meeting, hosting and, yes, networking folks Keeping the price modest as a host is also a way to pay it back and pay it forward. We've experienced years of grace where folks have provided accommodations at a reasonable price for hockey travels. .

The funds are helping me maintain the home. I am humbled and grateful for every booking.

Finally, I hope someday to have a real B&B during my retirement years.

During 2014, I don't have as many reviews as I have had more longer-term bookings. Please click "Other property reviews" to see historical reviews from prior years.

Thank you for considering my home for your stay!