• Thomas
Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 28
  • Reviewed
    16 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
BS physics Mich.State Univ., various grad pgms. at Univ.Mich (public policy, business)
Database ETL developer at Duke Clinical Research Institute in Durham NC, NC
Thomas's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Thomas!

Durham, North Carolina, United States · Member since July 2013
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I currently live in Durham, NC and am a software developer with a job at Duke Clinical Research Institute. I have a grown step-daughter age 45 (I guess that dates me, huh ;-) who lives in Michigan with her husband and son. I also have an "unofficial" daughter age 30 with 3 kids who lives in Indianapolis -- her home life was terribly neglectful and I've helped and encouraged her since I met her at the age of 13 -- she calls me dad and I call her sweetie.
I like mostly mysteries (sent to me by the box-load by a family member), and watch science and history documentaries on YouTube (I don't own a TV, as un-American as that might be to many). My father was a science fiction writer in the mid-late 1940s (look up T.L. Sherred) so I'm fairly good with words despite having a physics degree that I no longer remember anything of. Music-wise, I like blues, rockabilly, boogie-woogie, roots reggae, and roots country -- I've even gotten to like George Jones. Opera is verboten, unless maybe it is light like Rossini.
My sense of humor makes me who I am, although I tend toward dark or satirical humor. I absolutely love dogs, having grown up with German Shepherds, although I won't "own" a dog as long as I live in apartments. Food-wise I'm pretty basic, no gourmet cooking, and although I was once a non-vegan vegetarian, nowadays I'm a generalist -- except most seafood which for some unexplained reason I avoid.
I don't like social media, and though I technically have a Facebook page, I haven't visited FB in almost a two years. I simply detest doing laundry, which probably explains why I own at least 60 sets of socks & underwear. ;->