Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 21
  • Positively Reviewed
    7 Reviews
About Me
School
Marlboro College, Phillips Andover, Upper Valley Educators Inst.
Work
Teaching Spanish, human services, Cooking n culture n art to children
Languages
English, Español
Hey, I'm Greenough!
Putney, Vermont, United States · Member since July 2013

My daughter and I converted a barn into a home and an apartment 15 years ago when she was on the crew as a homeschooled 7th grader and I GCed when I came home from jobs. We've always strived to live very sustainably. She learned early how to network for rides, I even sometimes left the car at home and hitched . Though we could have, we opted not to put in a septic system, so we function on the "water is precious" paradigm. We've always grown various amounts of food on site, including some meat which I'd like to do again when there's more human resource on premises.
Present demography existing we're working perennial fruits and a small summer garden... well the leeks and kale will last into the fall.
We call the place the Skunk Barn Farm. Skunks relocated from the boarding school nearby, died and we found their beautiful skeletons amongst the hay and boards that lay in the barn, unused for decades. I chose to retrofit an existing structure near a road as a way to not take away habitat from animals less adaptable than our human selves. Though not fancy it's comfortable: passive solar shortens our otherwise wood heating season. And a small solar array will keep the well water pumping in case things go south. Solar clothes dryer works year round if you know how....
As a family we've always shared our living quarters with housemates, and recently I've expanded the concept to include an apartment under the same roof (it soon maybe available via AIR BnB) and the tent location where my family lived while we constructed.
I've worked over the years on Nuclear disarmament, War Tax Resistance, Civil Rights and Global preservation. I'm an avid outdoor (non-motorized) recreationist and dancer. Our fairly extensive library is available for your perusal. I'm interested in International trends, people, music and places. Hablo espanol bastante bien. I teach Spanish, so far mostly, to children. Je parle un petit peu de Francais. So if you're from Quebec we can probably cover the basics.
I've traveled sola to Central America, Mexico and cross (this) country and to the Netherlands with my daughter. As a child I was taken to Europe: GB. Luxembourg y Espana where my mother's cousin married a Madrileno and stayed. I'd love to travel more. I know how to travel cheap, 'cept for the getting there.
But I truly love my home. Here at the Skunk Barn Farm the sun shines amply, the skies are fantastic, and the greenery is varied and lush. It's a tough place to leave. I hope you'll enjoy visiting.

  • 7
    7 Reviews