Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    92
  • Facebook
    230 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    10 Reviews
About Me
School
South Fork High, Martin County High School, B.E.&E., Indian River State College
Work
Aguycan Beach
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español
Hey, I'm Alexander!
Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain · Member since June 2011

I consider myself a mix between an entrepreneur, a hippie and a modern day nomad, as I love to travel and I do not mean in the sense of going somewhere on vacation. I love to travel 3 to 6 months at a time; learning the culture, foods and even the language of the places I visit. My travels usually wind up turning into 3 to 5 year stays. At the moment I speak 4 languages - all 90% fluently. Although I am a bit shy, I am very social and love to meet new people. After a botched hernia operation a few years ago I was forced to almost completely stop traveling.

Several years ago during the world wide economic crisis I became unemployed. I was already renting out an apartment, which I bought, to pay the mortgage; but soon started renting out my own personal apartment to help pay the rent. Tourists were always approaching me, asking me if I knew of any apartments for rent in the area. So, I soon acquired the apartment of a neighbor in order to rent it out.

My misfortune of being unemployed as well as my language and computer programming skills soon turned into a hobby. I started a (website hidden) page and partnered with a German online travel agency. After acquiring another apartment, my hobby was turning into a small part time business. Two years later, AirBnB appeared on the scene.
Today I am Managing Director of Aguycan Beach Apartments and have no time for traveling. Besides (website hidden), my own site; a bit abandoned lately and AirBnB, we are also listed on (website hidden), Travelocity, Trivago and HouseTrip as well as many other travel websites. Although I do not make a living doing this, I love it; it has become a full time enterprise for me and it gives me a bit more social contact than I would otherwise have on this island.

I wish I could turn this into a part-time legal employment and not be dependent on my father but that would mean raising the prices, a lot of legal issues & obligations and little or even no financial gain.

  • 10
    10 Reviews