• Laura
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 74
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
About Me
School
Mount Holyoke College and University of Michigan School of Social Work
Work
Laura: Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, domestic/sexual violence and child maltreatment prevention and intervention and data. Oscar: photographer, web designer
Languages
English, Español
Hey, I'm Laura!
Anchorage, Alaska, United States · Member since June 2013

My husband and I are from Alaska--he was born in Colombia and raised here; I was born in California and raised here. I work in public health on domestic violence and child abuse prevention, especially with tribal health facilities, and he works as a professional photographer. We are both artists and photographers. We love our home of Alaska because we can spend the summer getting berries and wild greens and fish for the year and because of the state's cultural diversity and the richness of Alaska Native traditions in everyday life. We are also love to visit big cities like New York and Firenze and DF for their art, culture, diversity, architecture, and amazing food.

We like a quiet place to sleep--especially me--and for me, I like a firm bed with enough pillows. Other than that, we're not real picky. We are more than happy to pitch in to help with a meal or to clean up. We love to walk and take trains and bike around a city, to see the city through photographer eyes, to eat food from as many different cuisines as possible (especially Senagalese, Brazilian, Taiwanese, Indian...things we can't get in Alaska). We love to be inspired by art, to meet people and hear people's personal stories, and to go home with suitcases full of Middle Eastern groceries and bagels from NY, or chiles and mole from Oaxaca, or pasta and olives and sauces from Italia, etc. I love to practice my not-so-fluent Italian, we both love to speak Spanish with folks. And we are active people, eager to play, hike, bike, etc.

And we are not party animals, but do love to dance.

  • 1
    1 Review