• Penelope
Verified ID
  • Email address
    Verified
  • Phone number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 60
  • Reviewed
    32 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
Work
Retired
Penelope's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Penelope

Hey, I’m Penelope!

Arlington, Virginia, United States · Member since June 2011

Greetings and thanks for your interest in our listing. My husband Pat and I are avid travelers, both domestic and international. We often choose B&B's over traditional hotels, which is why we were immediately taken with the idea of airbnb. We love meeting and getting to know new people, hearing their stories and learning about local culture.

We became airbnb hosts in June of 2011 and enjoyed hosting many visitors during the following three years. We never felt that a stranger was walking through our front door; more like a friend we have not seen in a long time. Welcoming our guests, offering a glass of wine or chilled water and helping them feel at home were what we did best. We also enjoyed helping our guests navigate local transportation, finding good eats and pointing out highlights of this metropolitan area of ours.

We recently retired and downsized our home, so we no longer have the space to continue hosting airbnb guests. But we plan to start traveling much more, and hopefully always using airbnb through which we will continue to meet the same wonderful people we knew as hosts.

I hail from the British Isles while Pat was raised in New Mexico. Apart from twelve years in Los Angeles, I've lived in the Metro Washington area most of my time in the U.S. We owned and operated a Public Relations and Marketing Communications company for many years before it was purchased by a larger agency in the area. That purchase, in 2013, is what enabled us to retire and now we are eagerly anticipating a new chapter in our lives, filled with many trips and meeting many new friends!

We are both easy travelers, less interested in checking off every box in a tourist guide than we are in meeting the locals and getting a sense of the community we are visiting. We're both into maintaining physical fitness, either at the gym or long hikes outdoors, or practicing Yoga at home. We enjoy dining out but are not big on night life, preferring a quiet evening with friends or reading at home.