Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 32
  • Online ID
    Verified
  • Positively Reviewed
    3 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
John Innes Centre (Univ of East Anglia)
Work
Agricultural Research
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Gordon!
Davis, California, United States · Member since June 2013

I am a research scientist who works to improve crops for agriculture. I gave up a position at a large company to work at a non-profit organization aimed at improving crop yield in developing countries. I make less than half, but my work is now more meaningful. As a scientist I have met people from around the world and this is one of the best parts of my work. I often travel and visit friends from all over the world I have met at university and research centres, and this is one of the joys of my life. For fun I like to sail, ride my bicycle, climb mountains, and backcountry ski (all human powered.) I eat most all kind of food, including meat, though I used to be a vegetarian. I am an environmentalist who tries to use as few resources as possible, but I confess that meat eating is resource intensive.

I love visiting cities and learning about different cultures. I generally explore during the day then come home to relax and rest for the next day. Some nights I like to go out to see cultural events. I am quiet and tidy. I speak some French and Spanish-enough to get by when I visit rural agricultural settings-but I need to improve.

  • 3
    3 Reviews
  • Verified ID