• Debora
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 71
  • Positively Reviewed
    30 Reviews
About Me
School
University of Puerto Rico - Medicine School
Languages
English, Español, Français, Italiano, Português
Hey, I'm Debora!
San Juan, Puerto Rico · Member since May 2011

We're two best friends that live together: Débora Weaver-Guzmán and Rafiné Moreno-Jackson.

We both love music, traveling, learning from different cultures, our families and friends.

Rafiné speaks Spanish, English and Italian. She loves studying, learning and asking questions. Right now, I am studying Medicine and I want to dedicate my future professional work as a doctor to people who cannot pay for their health care or that don't have access to it.

Débora speaks English, Spanish, French and Portuguese. She is working as a High School English teacher. She wants to develop a Social Program where young Puerto Ricans benefit from being involved in Arts.

Interests:
Medicine, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Voluntary work, Anthropology, Public Health issues, Social insects, traveling, photography, drawing/painting, writing essays, swimming, poetry writing.....

Phylosophy:

“Do all the good you can,
By all the means you can,
In all the ways you can,
In all the places you can,
At all the times you can,
To all the people you can,
As long as ever you can.” - John Wesley

Type of people we appreciate:
Everyone!!!!!
But we have our favorites: open, respectful people who give love and help others learn and grow and find true happiness. Also, we love people who are thirsty for new experiences and growing and learning each day. We love people that like arts and that can enjoy a simple conversation on the sofa.

Amazing things that we have seen or done:

Rafiné and Débora:
2012 - Visiting a Zapatistas camp in Chiapas.
2011-2012 - New Year's Eve in Mexico with couchsurfers from all over the world; with mariachis and everything.
2011 - Road Trip all around USA with our best friends.
2011 - Going to a coffee farm in Buga, Colombia (in the middle of the mountains) and spending 2 days there with great Colombian friends.
2010 – Being half naked on our roof with great friends.
2010 – Public baths (and spa) in South Korea and Japan. Yep, unknown people naked all around you...and of course, we were naked too. Great experience... you get to the know the diversity of the human body and we think we love ourselves more since that day.
2009 - Graduating from the University with our best friends.
2009 – Canopy and skiing with our friends in Bariloche, Argentina.
2009 - Walking and walking and walking in Bariloche, Argentina.
2009 - Dancing tango every night in Montevideo, Uruguay.
2007 – Venezia, Italia with friends.
2006 - getting caught in the rain, in the university, with my best friends, dancing and laughing.

Rafiné:
2013 - Have seen, been and assisted in all types of surgeries on all types of patients.
2013 - Was in a lot of births and did my first birth by myself!!!!
2010 - Has traveled more times than her age (26 years old, traveled 41 times to 29 countries - 5 continents).
2010 - Being by myself in Paris, I met a French guy one night at the Eiffel Tower and had one of the best conversations I have ever had. We met again the next night and had a picnic until 2am at the same place.
2009 - Rafiné - Seeing the sunrise while driving on a road trip from San Salvador, El Salvador to Tikal, Guatemala with two great friends.
2009 - Got into Medicine School.
2009 - Graduated from my Bachelor's Degree in Biology, Anthropology and Gender Studies.
2004 - things did not go according to plans in a trip in Panamá, so my friend and I just took a very long bus trip by ourselves to get from Ciudad de Panamá to David, Chiriquí. Don't mind changes of plans if I'm with people who are not scared to have a great time anyways.
- My dad has survived very bad asthma, systemic lupus erythematosus, a thyroidectomy and cancer. You wouldn't notice it if you met him.
- Have been doing voluntary work in PR and around the world (Honduras, Panamá, Costa Rica, El Salvador, South Africa, Dominican Republic, Haiti, etc.) ever since I was 15 years old.
- Had penguins, lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos, hyenas, and many monkeys VERY CLOSE in South Africa. TOO close actually haha.
- My grandma's 94th birthday party.
- Waking up at 5am to give breakfast to homeless people in Puerto Rico (and have breakfast with them too!!!).
- Inter-religious/cultural/language activity in Forum Social Mundial in Belem, Brasil.
- Worked with HIV+ patients in South Africa.
- I know AT LEAST one person from EVERY country in North, Central and South America and the Caribbean.

Débora:
2010- Getting my first meaningful tattoo on my back and sharing the experience with one of my best friends.
2008 to present - Being a teacher!!!!
2009 - Overcoming the fear of turbulence and of a crashing plane.
2009 – Traveling in a bus from Argentina to Brasil.
2008 and 2009 - Voluntary work in Brasil.
2007 – Spending one Summer in Paris, France.
2005 actually felt a magic kiss in front of the " Morro" right at sunrise.

  • 30
    30 Reviews