Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 49
  • Facebook
    308 Friends
  • Reviewed
    189 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
Capuchino High, UC Davis
Work
State Water Resources Control Board
Languages
English
Victoria's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Victoria

Hey, I’m Victoria!

Sacramento, California, United States · Member since April 2013
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I believe life is short, and we should all try to be kind to one another and leave the world better (or at least no worse) than we found it.

I'm a wife, a mom, a sister, a former Girl Scout leader (9 years), a civil engineer, a manager, a mentor, and a friend. My hobbies include making things (quilts, stained glass windows, dolls, and I tried blowing glass once), being outdoors (kayaking, camping, white water rafting), photography, baking, and reading. I like theater, music, and movies. I'm a native Californian and have lived here my entire life.

My husband, Ken, is one of the nicest people I know. He is also an engineer and all around handy person. He knows something about almost everything, except French literature. He likes music, reading (science fiction, mostly), and building stuff. We're empty nesters. We have two wonderful kids, of whom we are very proud. We recycle, compost, and have a photovoltaic array on our roof to reduce our dependence on the "grid."

I love to travel. My most memorable adventures include seeing sea turtles hatching on the beach in Mexico; having humpback whales surround our boat for about an hour in Hawaii; watching a lion hunt a gazelle in Botswana; rappelling into a cave in New Zealand to zip line through a pitch black cavern (and then free-climbing up two small waterfalls to get back out); having a police escort on about 12 miles of closed freeway to the closing ceremonies of a conference at the Great Hall of the People in Tiananmen Square in Beijing, China; and taking a series of gondolas over Mt. Blanc to get from France to Italy (with my kids in tow). I've traveled most of the US and parts of western Europe. I'd like to sail around the Greek Islands.

I also love to entertain and host guests! I like staying in BnBs and I've always wanted to run one, mostly to meet interesting people and make sure that they have a good experience. In Ireland, it seems that most people have a bnb in their homes. When I heard about airbnb, I thought "What a great idea!"