• Julie
Verifications
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 72
  • Facebook
    180 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    2 Reviews
About Me
School
Fredericksburg High School, University of Northern Iowa
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Julie!
Oelwein, Iowa, United States · Member since May 2011

5 Things I Can't Live Without: Friends, Learning, Cats (preferably Siamese), Books, and contact with Nature. My life is divided between before and after pain disability. Before, I worked 19 yrs. on the wards of the state mental hospital as a psych aide/part-time supervisor. I was an avid perennial gardener, enjoyed trout-fishing, travel, and other outdoor activities. After disability, I focus on volunteer work: 13 yrs. as a co-facilitator of a support group for adults molested ask children; mentoring at schools; President of Friends of the Oelwein Library; Volunteer Coordinator for Buchanan County (website hidden) Bell-ringers, as well as on the Central Committee of Fayette Co. Democratic Party.

I generally travel with my best friend, Lori, who is a Jr. High Sp. Ed. teacher. Neither of us smoke, drink, or use drugs. Don't even drink coffee. We will treat your property with respect and care. We appreciate having a 'home base' to come back to after exploring the area, often to just relax and read or watch tv/movies...yet, also look forward to meeting new people. Hotel workers are generally nice, but just not the same. We both love animals, esp. kitties, so being in a place w/pets is a plus. We both enjoy being social, but also appreciate down-time.

When I travel, I like to try different foods from around the world, but my travel partner, not so much. Like book stores, thrift stores, home salvage/restoration, antique stores, to name a few.

My motto is, "Act With Love", as I've known kindness to go a long way.

  • 2
    2 Reviews