Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    05
  • Positively Reviewed
    5 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
Städtisches Mädchen-Gymnasium Wesel Mitte
Work
Translator/Teacher
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español, Français, Italiano, Nederlands
Hey, I'm Monika!
Wesel, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany · Member since March 2013

Hello, my name is Monika. I’m a 49-year old mother of 3; a boy of 17, two girls aged 14 and 12. We live in a small town in Germany at about 1 hour’s drive from Dusseldorf. The landscape is nice (if you like flat), and the river Rhine is simply beautiful. The town is a bit boring but it’s a good place for raising kids. I used to work as a translator but am now teaching English at the local vocational school. My husband also works there as a teacher for Maths, IT and Electr. Eng.
I like travelling, but get to do so much too rarely. I would very much love to travel through Latin America one day. I also like reading and watching good movies (e.g. Almodovar) and TV series. My favourites are: Breaking Bad and The Sopranos (I’m not sure in which order) and Downtown Abbey. I play the clarinet, but practice too little. As do my children, who take regular piano lessons but studiously ignore our e-piano for the rest of the week. I do a little jogging, horse-riding, and ballroom dancing with my husband, as well as some painting, all of which I do not excel in but enjoy a lot.
I love people-watching and going to restaurants and cafes. Sadly our town offers but a poor choice in that respect.
I hate huge crowds, elevators and rooms without windows.(So NYC was just the place for me…) But most of all I hate lying and selfishness.
On the whole I am a real optimist, but the way things are going these days I sometimes wonder…
5 things I couldn't live without: my family; a blue sky every now and then; good food and coffee; space and peacefulness.

  • 5
    5 Reviews
  • Verified ID