Response from Robert:
In response to Falih's comments:
Unfortunately we firmly disagree with the comments regarding the accuracy of the photographs in our Airbnb listing. We have SEVENTEEN PHOTOS of the apartment! All 17 photographs on the listing are indeed both current and accurate. The apartment is 450 square feet in size, and 17 photographs for an apartment of this size, we believe, is more than sufficient. Not a single other guest has disputed the accuracy of the photos.
All of the furniture, fixtures & fittings, artwork, linen, even the ornaments were all present in the apartment when Falih and his wife checked in, as pictured. Nothing was missing, and the apartment was both clean and tidy.
I was very surprised and concerned to hear that the guests found the flat 'extremely dirty', particularly as this wasn't mentioned to me during their lengthy check-in process. Prior to their arrival, I was at the property with our two cleaners who professionally clean all of our Airbnb apartments. Our cleaners serviced the apartment for 3 hours, followed by an inspection/sign-off by myself personally as the owner of the apartment.
We are proud to say that over the years we have never had any complaints about the cleanliness of our apartments. This is something we pride ourselves on, and expect the same when we stay at fellow Airbnb properties. However if something was indeed missed by our cleaners, we could only assume that our guests would contact either their host or Airbnb directly, where we could attempt to rectify the situation as a priority.
Falih mentioned the damaged door handles, and I offered to send my maintenance man in to fix them that day whilst they were out. However Falih said that it was fine, and they "just wanted me to know". These have now been repaired.
Sadly, it seemed from the very beginning of their stay, Falih and his wife were trying every trick in the book to get a discount. It was a very uncomfortable position to be in, especially as I would not apply an equivalent of our heavily discounted monthly rate when Falih's wife decided she wanted to stay somewhere else. I was then told, in writing, by Falih not to worry about this anymore as "you know what Woman are like". This comment, unfortunately, sums up the entire experience of this guest who is very sadly the first we will not be welcoming back to stay with us again.
Response from Robert:
As explained to Fiona on the first day, we had some plumbing work done (due to the installation of a new dishwasher) the day before her arrival, and some air got trapped in the pipes which caused the temporary stop to the hot water supply. The bathroom is exactly as pictured, and is of a size typical to central London apartment conversions of this nature.