• Jennifer
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 29
  • Facebook
    341 Friends
About Me
School
Slidell High School, University of Southern Mississippi, LSU
Hey, I'm Jennifer!
Austin, Texas, United States · Member since January 2013

I'm a young-for-my-age (wishful thinking) 39-yr-old traveling with my male partner. We are open-minded, non-religious, often silly but always thinking too much, and unmarried. I disclose two of these things not because I think they're important but to avoid personalities who might cause trouble because they think that they are (important). I'm "from" south Louisiana and Mississippi and lived in Florida for nearly a decade before moving to Texas 4 years ago. He's from Maryland/D.C. with a long stint in San Francisco. He's the extrovert, and I'm the introvert. Since I work a flexible schedule from "home" (from anywhere with internet access, actually), I sometimes accompany him when he travels with his tech consulting job, working and/or exploring while he's at work. When traveling, we keep it pretty low-key and like to check out concerts, festivals, farmers'/artisans' markets, restaurants--especially those using hi-quality natural ingredients, historic sites, history & science museums, architecture, wimp-style hiking, outdoor parks, theme parks (though as a former Disney cast member, my standards are high), and just general exploring of local life. Oh yes and random quirk: I have a strange thing for public transportation on rails... trains, subways, streetcars, monorails, etc.

I was a practicing veterinarian for 8 years and love to be around animals any chance I get, but I don't currently have any of my own. I love to "talk shop," so feel free to ask for my professional opinion, which I love to give out, particularly with people who are interested in holistic healing. I have a lot to learn on the subject, too, so it's possible that I could be the one learning from you.

I left my career in order to heal myself, so my most pressing concern with my accommodations is ensuring a healthy environment. I'm particularly sensitive to mold, so any place with a noticeable level of "mustiness" or unaddressed water leaks is not an option for me. So if you're covering up musty odors with "air fresheners," then please let me know that your place is not for me. I would be super giddy to meet a host who's into natural living/health and does not use synthetic chemicals in the home. But at the same time, I can tolerate a reasonable background level, and any place that hasn't been saturated in chemical fragrances and hasn't been painted for some time will be fine. Like most people with allergies and sensitivities, I'm a huge fan of hard floors. I really value breathing the outdoor air and planting my feet in the grass, so any place with access to both is a big bonus for me. The upside of my fastidiousness is that I'm inclined to keep my environment clean and am respectful of any structure I visit as well as its contents. Being environmentally conscious, I'm also not prone to wasting resources or leaving trash around the property. So there you have it. I've just joined here in prep for a trip back to New Orleans, so we'll see how it goes.

As for things I can't live without (well, they asked), I'm not much for materialism and have survived my share of first-world problems, so the list is short. Fresh air, clean water, clean food, a means of keeping a comfortable temperature and dry... cliché I know, but as you can see they truly are what I value most. Okay I'll go ahead and add internet access in there for good measure since I couldn't support myself without it, and a CD or mp3 player is always nice to keep myself sane with some good music, an audio book, or guided meditations. Not that I fear being alone with myself, but I'll admit to a small amount of techno-enslavement. Gotta keep it real.