• Annie
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 71
  • Facebook
    338 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    67 Reviews
About Me
School
Varndean Grammer, Brighton ( a very long time ago!)
Work
social research
Hey, I'm Annie!
Porthmadog, Wales, United Kingdom · Member since January 2013

I am a mother (of 5) and grandmother (of 7) I work doing studies about peoples health- I meet new people all the time. When I'm not working I'm painting- now my children have all grown up I finally have time to do an art degree. I paint landscapes and people and abstract.
I love the slow pace here, the gentleness of the people - everyone has time to be curious about each other, in a kind way..lots of networking goes on when people meet by chance, on the street, in the shops. I came to Wales for the wilderness, the ever changing skies, the wind and rain, the sudden surprise of sunshine!
All the place names here- for example, the names of villages and houses- have a meaning, which can help when you are trying to find your way around- "Bryn" is a hill- "coed" a wood- " afon" a river and so on.
As a host- although you won't be under the same roof as me, I live about 5 miles away- you will be able to ask me questions about the geography and the stories of the area. I especially love to go to megalithic sites, old churches and healing wells- there are many of these to be found within a 30 mile radius.I can suggest places you might enjoy and directions how to find them. I will sit and chat with you for hours if you like and invite you over for a meal...but most likely you will be here for peace and quiet so I will give you the keys and wish you a happy holiday.
I have travelled a little- to Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Australia- I have a daughter in Melbourne. My second favorite country is Brittany- Wales is my first! I love to stay in simple places- my ideal holiday would be a yurt or a bell tent near a beach, during a moderate heat wave, dinner cooked over a wood fire, lying on my back counting shooting stars and singing songs with a handful of good friends- one plays a guitar and another has a flute...and we have been swimming in the warm sea.

I am new to Airbnb but it looks like a brilliant way for people to meet and travel without too much money or complicated plans.

  • 67
    67 Reviews
  • 3 References