Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 39
  • Facebook
    484 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
Kansas State University (BS, MBA), Nebraska (Ph.D.)
Work
Associate Professor (tenured) of Organizational Behavior (essentially the psychology of work) at Northern Michigan University in Michigan's gorgeous Upper Peninsula.
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Gary!
Marquette Township, Michigan, United States · Member since March 2011

In short -- professor, nice guy, enthusiastic, healthy.
You want more...
My life motto/tendency is uncertainty. I have a very high tolerance of ambiguity and that helps me stay open-minded and always trying to learn and try new things.
I'm going to northern India January 2013 to help lead a group of students at my university on a service trip. How cool is that?! There is a reason they picked me to help lead the trip and this description of myself should give you an idea of why I'm the kind of guy they'd pick to do this.
I have been married to the same woman for 24 years. We both look/act much younger than our 45-46 years.
Favorite movies are Casablanca and then a couple movies that eff w/ your mind (I like that)... Matrix, Fight Club (I'm a bit anti-establishment) and then Office Space (also anti-establishment and fits well w/ my particular academic discipline).
I read a lot of blogs related to my field and thus not much time on tv or books. But I do like the Tao de Ching and Christopher Moore. Other books I like don't show a pattern of any particular genre.
My students and most people who know me would generally describe me as nice/caring, funny, smart, challenging/questioning/prodding, and enthusiastic.
Favorite "unusual" food is Indian. I can't really think of a genre of foods I don't like... um... except I don't really like turkey, mac n cheese, or squid.
Favorite music... I'm a singer (tenor) and love choral music. Also folk, punk, ska, and metal if it's not too poppy or hairy (that is, really do not like hair bands).
Can't live w/o... intellectual stimulation, working with/helping people, or the internet.
Travel style: I pack too heavy. I go forever on any given day into the evening and night.
Other: I'm not very punctual about anything -- I may be too laid back. I guess that's the taoist in me.

  • 1
    1 Review
  • Verified ID