Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    19
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
About Me
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Grace!
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia · Member since November 2012

I'm a teacher, grad student, and writer. When I'm not teaching, researching or writing, I love to read, jog / walk, practise yoga and meditation, do crafty domestic stuff, spend time with family & friends, watch documentaries, and travel. I'm very curious about other people and cultures. I love photography books and exhibitions (esp of people in everyday life), though I'm not myself a photographer (no technical nous). I'm fluent in English, and know a survival amount of Mandarin Chinese (speaking and reading). I love languages and have over the years learned teeny tiny amounts of French, Spanish & Thai - mostly for travel purposes - & alas, now mostly forgotten!! I have travelled widely and the place I'd most love to return to is Peru. The place I would most love to explore is the Old Silk Road in Central Asia. I love handmade, handcrafted things. I hate shopping and especially mega-malls. I'm committed to social justice issues and have for many years been involved in various capacities with Amnesty International, Oxfam, and World Vision, as well as with local refugee / asylum seeker support organisations. As a guest, I enjoy fitting in with my hosts and doing ordinary, everyday activities. I'm not the kind of visitor who has a list of 'must-see' tourist sites I need to tick off; while I do appreciate these, I prefer to chart my own course & venture off the well-beaten track. I love having people to stay in my own home and look forward to having the time and space to be a host in due course.

  • 1
    1 Review
  • 4 References