Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 35
  • Facebook
    574 Friends
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
About Me
School
Cornell University, Stanford University
Work
Vice President at Physician's Computer Company ((website hidden))
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Jay!
Richmond, Vermont, United States · Member since November 2012

I'm a 49 year old lifelong Vermonter and software professional. I started my business, Physician's Computer Company ((website hidden)) in 1983 with some friends from high school and we're still going strong today.

In my spare time I read (most recent non-fiction: 1493, and American Nations; fiction: Year's Best SF Short Stories), eat (anything ethnic -- Ethiopian is my favorite), putter doing nerdy things (learning new software tools), and help out local GLBT non-profits (community center, youth group, HIV testing group). My musical interests are all over the map: folk (Susan Werner), world (Le Vent Du Nord), electronica (Banco De Gaia), dance/club (Paul Oakenfold, Above and Beyond), rock (Coldplay). My most recent big trip was to Beijing, China and Pyongyang, North Korea in September. It was kind of the trip of a lifetime as far as new experiences go. In 2008 I took a sabbatical and spent six weeks driving around North America, visiting friends and camping. The high point of that trip was the Canadian Rockies parks: Jasper and Banff.

I'm not a fan of Vermont winters, so I like to get away then. I attended a couple years of grad school at Stanford in the 80s and have had an association with the Bay Area ever since. In addition to having lots of friends who've migrated there over the years, at this point half of my generation of family lives there: SF, Oakland, San Mateo, and Santa Clara.

I have a partner, Scott. He lived in the South Bay before moving to Vermont five years ago. We met at a Groundhog's Day party four years ago. He does freelance web and database design/development.

As guests, Scott and I are pretty low-impact. We're tidy and quiet. We work from home or coffeeshops. I like to spend at least part of the day walking around, exploring the place I'm visiting. Although we enjoy couch/guest-room surfing with friends, or hosting them, for longer stays I prefer to rent a place.

  • 1
    1 Review