Thanks for taking the time to report this user.
Your participation helps keep Airbnb a safe and trusted community, and it doesn’t go unnoticed!
I love books, music, movies, theatre, traveling and intellectually stimulating conversation.
Regge Allan has completed online and offline ID verification.
Learn more »
The host canceled this reservation 2 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
The host canceled this reservation the day before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Check in & out was flexible. Although our check in time was pushed two hours later due to a cleaning. We lived in an extremely dusty home for our complete stay. (Mon-Sat) Slept restlessly throughout the night. A bad scent in the air and bug bites. Bottom line the cleanliness wasn't there. We made the best out of the place. Swept up lots of debris, opened the windows to air out the place, lit up scented candles, and brought our own amenities. We were only there to sleep. Even to come back and freshen up was very discouraging. We never looked forward to it. Up side is the subway is across the street to catch the Q. Not much you'd want to see around the neighborhood.
The room is as pictured, except yes it is pretty cluttered. I feel like everything he has is just pushed over to the side. If you're a neat freak, or even a clean freak, this place is not for you. It wasn't exactly what we were expecting. The place just needed to be cleaned up a little more, example; there was finger prints on the glass table. Maybe some mopping/dusting too. It's just not that ideal I guess. But I guess you get what you pay for. (Kind of)The q train is practically across the street along with prospect park so that's a plus. The city is about 4 or 5 stops away and the neighborhood is fairly safe. This was kind of our last choice. Not an ideal place.
I can not thank Regge enough for his hospitality and responsiveness. We didn't get to meet him during our weekend stay but he was communicative and easy to reach.
Apartment: Very clean, cute and well-kept. Previous reviewers complained about the owners belongings being there, but come on- this is AirBnB! Book with a hotel if that is an issue (which it wasn't for us). The building was undergoing a painting job on our floor but Regge had warned us about this beforehand and we were ok with it.
Location: A previous reviewer suggested this place for someone that is already familiar with the area. Which I can see, but to be honest, if you are here you will get to see a side of the New York City area that not many get to. It was fun exploring the different parts of Brooklyn and although we did not get a chance to see it, everyone told us how beautiful Prospect Park is. Drive to Manhattan takes twenty minutes without traffic. Can't speak for public transportation since we didn't use it.
Parking: If you are driving, there is a parking lot nearby you can park in. Sunday is free, and we paid $10 for overnight which is not bad at all. Street parking was difficult for us to find, but that is probably because we looked for it at times that everybody else was too.
Very close to the metro station, safe neighborhood, perfect place for staying in NY and visiting the city.
My girlfriend and I had a great stay at Regge's apartment and would stay again. It is as advertised, small but in a great location, just across the street from Prospect Park, which was great, and the subway, which was super convenient for getting all over NYC. Also the bed was very comfortable.
It looks like the negative reviewers don't really understand how airbnb works in the U.S. or else they don't understand New York. No, for $100/night you are not getting a suite at the Bellagio, this is Regge's home, so yes, his belongings are there, and yes the building is a little old and funky. It's also cheaper than any other nearby listing by at least $30/night, comfortable enough for a weeklong stay, and offers great access to Brooklyn and Manhattan.
Regge could not be more accommodating, fitting in our last minute travel request and leaving the key with the 24hr doorman, making coming and going easy.
Great value, may not be for older folk or those who need hotel-like atmosphere, but great choice for seeing New York on a budget!
We are sorry, but we wouldn't recommend that apartment and Regge as a host. In our opinion the apartment isn't cozy but
dingy and little smelly.
Since august there is work going on in the apartment building. The subway station around the corner was not
served from one line because of different works.
We choosed that apartment because it had a kitchen and looked cozy. But there is a reason why you cannot find a picture of the kitchen (and the bathroom).
Before booking we got in touch with Regge, he responded quick but didn't mention something about the works at the interior of the building or the Subway.
After booking we had to wait three days till he answered our question.
When we arrived it was stiflingly warm in the apartment. So we put on the AC. We left, because we had to buy toilet paper (there was only half a roll left).
Also there was still cleaning powder on the toilet seat. (I don't explain here more about the "sponge and the other thing" we found by and next to the bathtub!)
When we came back to the apartment at night - it was still
warm. The AC didn't make a great job. The one next to the bed didn't work well and the other one was behind the couch.
So we had to open the windows and there was a nice breeze. But also very noisy.
We tried to sleep. The bed sheet didn't
cover the mattress - or only the first 3 inches.
The kitchen was full packed, the things were sticky. There was no
chance to feel comfortable. The trashcan was dirty. No clean towel supply.
We get in touch the next morning. We apologized because we didn't like the apartment and after some hours he responded he was sorry about that and we would found a resolution. We tried one more night. But then we decided to leave and told him. He wanted to know quickly when we would leave but he didn't answer our question how the resolution would be. We waited. After one day he just wanted to know exactly what time we would leave. We asked about the resolution his answer was fast and short "no resolution, all is like it is listed!". We know now that we had to get in touch with airbnb within 24 hours to have any chance do get earlier out off that deal and that's maybe the
reason why Regge was talking about a "resolution" and denied it later!
Brooklyn it self is super cool with some great neighborhoods and you should definitely not spend all your time in Manhattan, just choose one of the other airbnb places! By the way, we are used to travel the hole world (with sleeping on the floors), but don't remember when I was that much disappointed of what I paid and what I got!
Staying at Regge's flat for a week was a pleasure! Super close to the Prospect Park, Restaurants an the Q/S trains that will connect you to anywhere you want to be.
Our stay at Regge's place was really nice, we didn't stay too much in the appartement because we were visiting the city all day long but the bed is comfortable so we had great nigths - in a clean place - to recover for our walks. The view from the roof top is perfect with prospect park and Manhattan. Subway is just a few steps away and the neighbourhood is nice and safe even in the middle of the nigth.