• Aleks
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 86
  • Facebook
    263 Friends
  • Reviewed
    19 Reviews
About Me
School
Oberlin College
Work
BBC, The Guardian, LSE and University of Oxford
Aleks's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Aleks
Hey, I'm Aleks!
London · Member since November 2012
You have reported this user. Undo?

Hello! I'm Aleks. I'm originally from the US but have been living in the UK for 20 years. I've been in London for three of those, and absolutely love this city.

I also love this flat! It's so close to The Guardian newspaper offices (in the dynamic and delicious Kings Place venue on Regent's Canal), where I'm the host of Tech Weekly, their technology podcast, and where I write columns and features about the social implications of the web. My first book, published by Guardian Books in April, is called Untangling the Web: What the Internet Is Doing to You.

The flat is also only 20 minutes away from the BBC on Regent's Street, where I go every week to record The Digital Human, a series on Radio 4, about who we are in the digital age.

It's also a 15 minute cycle ride to the LSE, where I'm a Visiting Fellow in the Media and Communications department researching the little things the web assumes about us when we use sites like (website hidden) and (website hidden). For it, I created something called The Serendipity Engine.

I'm a foodie, and love to cook. You can tell this by the cookware I have in the kitchen :) I am a big fan of the new branch of Caravan in the fabulous Granary Square around the corner, and love the street food revolution that's epitomised by _KERB, which is open around the corner every weekday on Kings Boulevard. My favourite restaurant in London, though, is a vegetarian joint, Mildred's in Soho.

I also love exploring this city, using books like Richard Barrett's Medical Walks of London or Peter Ackroyd's London: A Biography as a guide.

I'm currently in Florence, Italy, working on my next book - a story about my grandmother's life when she was a teenager in the underground army in Poland during WW2.

I'm a voracious traveller; I was born in Malaysia to Polish-American parents, grew up in New Orleans, spent five years living just outside LA (though it's where most of my family still live), went to high school in Washington D.C., and college at Oberlin, in Ohio. I moved to the UK because I fell in love when I was studying abroad in Glasgow, Scotland. That relationship didn't last, but my love for the country remains.

I've lived in Glasgow where I learned to drink beer and eat haggis. I've lived in Leamington Spa near Birmingham in the Midlands where I discovered great curry and the cycle paths and canals that criss cross the country. I lived in Guildford where I got my MSc and PhD in Social Psychology. I've lived in Brighton where I began to play beach volleyball competitively on the national tour. And now, I live in London, where I run on the canal, eat good food, consume local culture and generally love the view.