• Michel
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 00
  • Reviewed
    1 Review
About Me
University of British Columbia; Emily Carr University of Art and Design; Vancouver City College.
retired High School teacher
English, Français, Italiano
Michel's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Michel!

Victoria, Canada · Member since October 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am a recently retired (2011) High School teacher (Art, French, Socials, Drama) M.A., B.Ed.,B.A. (Hons.), B.F.A.; my wife is a retired Health Record Administrator; so we both are retired professionals. I am 62, my wife 65, we have no kids or pets.

So far, I am quite content to not work....I just work around the house updating our new house and doing renovations....We read a fair bit, so we are kind of quiet people.

We now live in Victoria BC (since March 1st, 2015), after having downsized from Richmond BC (32 years- Greater Vancouver 45 years, since 1970).

We now own a nice townhouse, instead of a big house on a big lot, a 10 min. walk to shopping, a 3 min drive to any big box store you can think of. Very mild weather here, no extremes. No snow in winter, just rain, but less than Vancouver.

I am originally from Hull, Quebec (born in Ontario) and my wife is originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba. That's where we went to High School and most of our families live.

We are both non-smokers; wife does not drink, I am a social drinker, in July 2015 we will have been married 45 years. We like to shop and eat in nice restaurants... we don't golf....or BBQ....we tend to keep to ourselves. We like touring art galleries, museums, antique malls, shopping malls, Zoo, parks, etc.. Driving to points of interest...like we did the Apache Trail drive February 2013. I am a history freak.

In the evenings we like to watch TV, Netflix is great for that...

Both of us are early risers, out of work habit...but I also trade stocks, so I like to be online when the markets open...out West, it's 6:30 AM. My wife is a "neat freak", she's always cleaning, plus we always clean up after ourselves before we leave any place (even hotel rooms) and I treat any rental car like my own, always have. I even have them washed during my rental period, if they need it....I'm not driving around in a dirty car.

We love Phoenix AZ and go there regularly...and have for many years.....usually stay in Extended Stay Hotels so we know this area very well. Hotels we frequent there are the Hyatt Summerfield suites (now Hyatt House) and the Chaparral Suites. I rent a full size car every time.

I have a younger brother that winters at Pompano Beach Florida and owns his winter home there. I often go there to visit...almost every year.

Since winters in Victoria tend to be cool, rainy and cloudy (like Seattle, 100 miles to the South), we like to go away somewhere to get some sun....preferably some place warm and dry.

For vacation rentals, we like a nice clean place, fully furnished and quiet. Always nicer to have 2 bathrooms. My wife likes a sunny, furnished patio or deck, where she can read and relax. For me, it's good parking, a nice flat screen TV and good available internet.