Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 22
  • Positively Reviewed
    10 Reviews
About Me
School
BA: Alma College; MSI: University of Michigan; PhD: Syracuse University
Work
University of New Mexico & Cornell University
Languages
Français
Hey, I'm Andrea!
Syracuse, New York, United States · Member since October 2012

I'm a postdoc researcher studying citizen science. I currently work out of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and have a dual affiliation with University of New Mexico. I travel a lot for business (over 200K flight miles and counting) and tack on a day or two to take in the locale when I can. I've lost track of all the places I've visited, but my favorite to date was Kauai, Hawaii.

When I'm on the road, I especially like to visit zoos, aquariums, art and science museums, conservatories, and botanical gardens. Offbeat local specialties always pique my interest. My hobbies include hiking, long-distance backpacking, knitting, photography, and birding, so I'm always on the lookout for good spots to see birds, forest and mountain trails, exceptional views, and local yarn shops.

I get up early, stay up late, and can sleep through almost anything. I'm a seasoned traveler and considerate guest, but not one to linger as I'd rather get out and do something. Preferably something outdoors. I'm a little forgetful at times, but always responsible, easygoing, and friendly.

I love good food, from neighborhood dives to fine dining, but I don't eat sushi or raw tomatoes. My favorite restaurants are those with creative menus that feature local ingredients. I need a good cup of coffee in the morning, so if I'm driving, I often bring along my own espresso pot.

On occasion, I get to travel with my husband Everett, but he hates to fly so he usually stays home. Everett is a connoisseur of the printed word and writes a lot of book reviews, especially for books about baseball and baseball players. He's a librarian with subject specialties in American literature, law, and...baseball.

  • 10
    10 Reviews