• Helen
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 50
  • Facebook
    116 Friends
  • LinkedIn
About Me
University of Houston -- graduated, thankfully!
Freelance writer/editor
English, Türkçe
Helen's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Helen!

Ankara, Turkey · Member since September 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I'm a former Houstonian transplanted to Turkey thanks to an international marriage. I grew up in Sugar Land, TX, and went to the University of Houston for all of my education. (Go Coogs!) My family moved out-of-state after I left, so I'm glad to have Airbnb for my annual visits to Houston.

Food I miss the most (food must always come first): Blue Bell ice cream, all Tex-Mex, the strawberry cream cheese pie from House of Pies (Westheimer location), things with mint chocolate (such as Mint OREOs), decent but affordable sushi (unagi!)

Dream travel destinations: Santorini Island, Taj Mahal (India in general), Scandinavia (to see the aurora borealis), Japan, Australia, Thailand, Machu Piccu, Eastern Europe, and Kenya (Giraffe Manor, perhaps). I have a special place in my heart for Germany. I'm fortunate that in recent years, I've slowly been checking places off my travel to-do list.

A few favorite books and authors: Ender's Game (and resulting series), Brave New World, anything by Douglas Adams, YA/teen lit, dystopian lit, but I read books from just about every genre.

Some favorite movies: Science of Sleep, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Matrix, Across the Universe, Mean Girls, movies with time-travel stories. The Sound of Music is a childhood favorite.

My guilty pleasures are teen shows like Pretty Little Liars. I'm a long-time fan of The Simpsons, and I love improv comedy shows like Whose Line Is It Anyway?.

As a guest: I'm a non-smoker and teetotaler. I'm very tidy and quiet (I like to work in silence), and I prefer being left to follow my own schedule. I'm definitely a night owl and might come and go late at night, so I don't want to wake people (children, pets) or have a curfew. I also have some dietary restrictions, so it's easier if you don't try to feed me. I can handle food all on my own. ;)

I'm the kind of person who likes to have everything planned waaay ahead of time and can feel annoyed if things don't go according to plan. However, I've learned to mellow out -- life is pretty unpredictable.

As a host: Well, my place is so small that I don't even have an extra room, so I guess I won't be doing much hosting on Airbnb. However, I try hard to make people feel at home and love to give insider tips and recommendations. I also love to cook and bake, so I'd probably want to feed you or leave you treats!