Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 28
  • Facebook
    298 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    9 Reviews
About Me
School
Martin-Buber-Oberschule, Berghs School of Communication
Work
Branding Agencies, Journalist, Bike Activists, Marketing
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español, Svenska
Hey, I'm Philip & April!
Portland, Oregon, United States · Member since September 2012

We're a car-less family of four, with cross cultural roots from Sweden, Germany and the US. We've lived in Europe and the US interchangeably in several different periods, and feel very fortunate to have ended up in Portland again since 2010. We have owned this house since 2000, done a lot of work to it since then, and love this home of ours very much. Other than that, we like books, music, art and good food. We have a few very close and dear friends that we see a lot, and a fairly large network of wonderful neighbors, colleagues, school acquaintances and more casual friends that we spend intermittent time with.

April is a writer, journalist and blogger, writing about different sustainability issues. Her biggest interest is the urban biking lifestyle, she has also published "Women on Wheels", a handbook for city cyclists. She leads a Meetup group also called "Women on Wheels" doing bike tours around Portland and surrounding areas to help people enjoy a biking lifestyle. Philip is typically the token male in the group. April also is a yoga teacher, her classes are typically conducted in our living room, often in conjunction with one of her bike trips. It is not uncommon that all this healthy yoga and biking activity will be balanced by a nice brunch afterwards.
April grew up in California, Manila and Hong Kong.

Philip is a brand and marketing guy, he's worked for agencies for a few decades, and recently joined Nutcase Helmets as their Brand Connector. He loves the outdoors, and will do anything to be out hiking, biking, rafting, kayaking - you name it. Philip grew up in Sweden and Berlin, and is born in Kansas City, Kansas.

Cosmo is graduating from high school, and is ready to move to study in Sweden this summer. He is a passionate choir singer.
Finnegan is 14, plays the guitar and loves watching films more than anything.
Both our boys have spent roughly half their life in Sweden and half in the US, mainly Portland.

Foxy is a very mellow shelter dog, rumors have it she's a concoction of Golden Retriever, Aussie, and Chow. She mostly enjoys lying under the table and eating, with the odd ball romping in between.

We will typically move down to the basement appartment when our house is rented out, it has a separate entrance and is completely self-contained. The only feature we ask to share when the house is rented is the soaking tub on the back deck, typically early in the morning and late in the evening. Please let us know if that will be too much of an indisposition for you, and we'll make alternate plans.

  • 9
    9 Reviews