• Meg
  • Email Address
  • Facebook
    73 Friends
About Me
St. Mary's in the Mountains, CU Boulder
semi-retired Ship's Cook, etc
Meg's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Meg!

Seattle, Washington, United States · Member since September 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

Born and raised in Hannibal, Missouri I have been influenced by Mark Twain and The Unsinkable Molly Brown.
(Little known fact: Molly Brown, who survived the sinking of the Titanic, was also born in Hannibal.)

I'm an unconventional gal with an insatiable thirst for travel.

A former stone sculptor I have a fair number of credits to claim including a public commission. I've also worked as a decorative artist, painted numerous murals and created many special finishes. I've worked as a performing arts photographer and a photo technician.

An avid sailor, I've worked as Ships Cook on small research vessels and sailing yachts (Alaska, Caribbean, Bermuda) and I've traded skills as a pen & ink illustrator for accommodation (Mexico), scuba diving (Belize) and language school (Guatemala). I live one day at a time.

I have a small home in a very desirable neighborhood in Seattle. It is filled with treasures found on my travels. I have vacated to accommodate visiting professors for over 15 years. It's available for periods not less than 2 months and not more than 3 (Oct through April) Everyone has enjoyed their stay.

After studying Fine Arts and Italian at CU, Boulder in the '70's I put 20,000 miles on my 650 Yamaha crisscrossing the US- north, south, east and west.
I climbed a live volcano in Guatemala, crewed on a 50' gaff-rigged schooner 200 miles offshore from Seattle to Morro Bay (one of several offshore voyages). I've trekked most of New Zealand, wandered most of Central and Eastern Europe, backpacked 9 days solo on the famous "O" circuit trail in Torres del Paine in Patagonia, hiked the Inca Trail, crossed Lake Titicaca in a small boat, explored the jungle in Bolivia, walked part of the Great Wall of China and dived the great Barrier Reef.. 90% of the time I am traveling solo.

I love meeting new people in far away places and I love when they later visit me.. I have bicycled across Estonia and made my way overland on trains and buses from Tallinn to Istanbul. Photography is another passion, as is gardening. When I am not traveling, I am digging in the soil or managing my peach trees. I can't wait for the rain so I can settle into a good book or movie. Never a dull moment.

Personally, I enjoy accommodations from tents to 4 star hotels. As much as I enjoy meeting people, I need a lot of private time. When I host you, you probably won't meet me because I will vacate to accommodate you. I will be on my way to a new adventure. It is my utmost desire to provide you a spotless and comfortable visit. When I visit you, I will need privacy, and plenty of time alone.

I try to stay good physical condition by swimming, biking and walking. My style of travel is mentally exhausting.

I can't live without good food, good coffee, a trip on the horizon.

My motto: Be Prepared for the Unexpected