• Rachel
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 24
  • Facebook
    184 Friends
  • Reviewed
    2 Reviews
About Me
Northumbria University
Rachel's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Rachel!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom · Member since September 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?


I am a friendly, enthusiastic person keen to see the world. I study full time at Northumbria University in Newcastle upon Tyne, where I'm doing a PhD in Cognitive Linguistics. When I'm not studying or sleeping, I enjoy spending time with friends and family, eating out, cooking, coveting expensive handbags, and travelling as far and wide as I can.

When I travel I'm always keen to eat local food, see the famous sights, spend at least a day wandering quite aimlessly around the city, just to see where my feet take me, and meet local people. I'll take a zillion photos, then spend the return journey figuring out how to come back. A typical-ish day might be: get up around 7.30/8am, shower, get breakfast and read over a city guide. Do some sightseeing (normally on foot), taking in a nice lunch and maybe an afternoon coffee. Come back to base for a couple of hours before heading out in search of dinner, maybe a gig or a film, or drinks with people I know in town. Head back, then zzzz...

I've been able to do some travelling in recent years. The big highlights were a holiday in Hong Kong (including a one-day trip across the border to Shenzhen), and a 3-month stay in the US. I spent two months working in Freedom NH, then travelled to Boston, Manhattan, San Francisco, and from there did a tour of a load of national parks in the west (faves; Yellowstone and Zion). I'd love to return to Boston and San Francisco, and spend more time travelling around Utah.

I'm a pretty healthy girl. I like to have a couple of drinks but I don't go crazy. I don't do drugs, nor do I smoke.

When I travel, I can't live without: a city guide, annotated and read in advance, supplemented by recommendations from other sources; comfortable shoes/trainers for walking around the city; my iPhone (is that sad? It's so handy for finding the nearest Coldstone though...); my camera and at least minimal comprehension of how the public transport system works.

Other faves:
Books: The Secret History, The Corrections, The Great Gatsby, 1984
Music: Brand New, Oasis, Weezer, Vampire Weekend, Paramore, Arcade Fire, Andrew Bird
TV: The Sopranos, Homeland, The Thick Of It, The (UK) Office, Friends, Sex and the City, Mad Men, Absolutely Fabulous, Twin Peaks (until S2 started getting silly)
Films: When Harry Met Sally, Clueless, Manhattan, Annie Hall, Friday Night Lights, The Royal Tenenbaums, Trainspotting, High Fidelity, Moulin Rouge
Food: katchuri dhansak, steamed pork buns, fish and chips, cucumber, mushroom risotto, strawberries, chocolate and peanut butter combinations.

Wow. I've written loads. Probably most importantly: I'm honest. I'm nice. I'm clean. And as soon as I finish my PhD and the UK economy rights itself and I find myself in possession of a place of my own, I'll be happy to show you my town.

Want to know more? Email me!