Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    09
  • Facebook
    663 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    10 Reviews
About Me
School
Queen's University Belfast
Work
Women's Aid
Languages
English, Español
Hey, I'm Victor And Emma!
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom · Member since August 2012

Hello! Welcome!

We are a married couple, from Chile and Ireland, who have made Belfast our home. We have lived here for over ten years and we love this city!

We are both seasoned travellers, with El Salvador, Sweden, India, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Spain, Israel, Washington DC, Ethiopia and the Lake District being just some of the places we have lived and visited in recent years. We regularly host friends and couch surfers and always learn so much from our visitors. We love to have people come to stay and really enjoy getting to know people from near and far away! ¡Hablamos español!

Victor is a postgraduate student and a musician. He plays the guitar, flute, piano and charango {a small Andean instument similar to a ukulele}. We love vinyl and have a growing record collection with Joan Baez, Pink Floyd, Bach, Bon Iver, Musee Mechanique, Bob Dylan, Olaf Arnalds, Rachmaninov, The Tallest Man on Earth, Ella Fitzgerald, Silvio Rodriguez, Tom Jobim, The Cinematic Orchestra and Van Morrison all making regular appearances. Victor is also a fan of analogue photography and fixing old bicycles.

Emma works for a domestic violence charity and is a freelance translator and loves to sew, quilt, bake and tackle the weeds in our community garden. We recycle and compost, trying to minimise waste as much as possible and we both love to cook. We are mostly vegetarian, but also love a good piece of meat every now and again. Victor makes the best risotto and Emma can make a cake or muffins out of the simplest and strangest ingredients {chocolate and zucchini torte anyone?!} We also both love camping, hiking, fishing, cycling and exploring nature and have lots of stories to tell about our adventures!

We love international and independent film, going to see live music, buying fruit and vegetables and having lunch at our local market at the weekend, cycling along the Lagan towpath and spending time with our friends and family. We work and study full-time but enjoy having people over for dinner or a movie in the evening and at weekends. We are laid back and open-minded and like to make people feel welcome and at home.

We look forward to hosting you and/or staying with you!

  • 10
    10 Reviews
  • 16 References