Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 95
  • Facebook
    83 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    3 Reviews
About Me
School
Port Coquitlam Senior Secondary, University of British Columbia
Work
British Columbia provinvial government employee.
Hey, I'm Martin!
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada · Member since August 2012

I live on Vancouver Island, which is located on the west coast of British Columbia, Canada. I've been married to my wife, Marion, for 38 years and am the father of our 4 adult children, two of whom are now living in Europe and working as artists. I've worked for the provincial government for 14 years as a forest ecologist and soil scientist in the forest research program, and for 12 years as a treaty negotiator in the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation.

I studied at the University of British Columbia and have a Bachelor of Science in Forestry and a Master of Science in Biometeorology (Environmental Biophysics).

I'm very interested in art. I like to paint landscapes in acrylic, oil and water colour. I've collected a large library of art books and enjoy studying painting and drawing techniques and styles. I particularly like the early 20th Century California Impressionists and the southwest desert painters.

I'm also an avid reader of science, history, philosophy and literature. A habit I share with my wife - between us, we've managed to fill our house with books. I usually have about 4 books that I'm reading at the same time, on quite different topics, and I jump from one to the other as my mood dictates. For a while now, I've been trying to teach myself Spanish, so a teach yourself Spanish text is always in my bag.

For exercise, I walk and cycle. I try to walk 10 to 15 kms per day.

I enjoy cooking, and happily, my family believes that I'm a "good cook." I never follow a recipe. I get an idea of what I want to taste and then go to the market and buy what's needed and start crafting. I approach cooking in the same way that I do painting. I never do a detailed drawing when starting a painting. I get an idea and start putting paint on a canvas. it's the same with cooking, I get an idea and start chopping.

The things that I would really not want to live without are: my family and friends; art, books, movies, and music (jazz and classical in particular); wine, beer, single malt scotch, and good coffee; travel to interesting cities, beautiful landscapes, the ocean, and on and on.

My life motto is de omnius dubitandum (question everything).

  • 3
    3 Reviews