• Wim
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 83
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
About Me
School
Lessius University College
Work
Federal Government of Belgium
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français, Nederlands
Hey, I'm Wim!
Antwerpen, Vlaams Gewest, Belgium · Member since August 2012

As I'm new on Airbnb, I've taken the liberty to copy the information about myself from my (website hidden) profile. Don't worry, I'll suit it to the Airbnb site once I get the hang of this website. Anyway, here goes:

I'm very eager to meet new people from all over the world. I got the idea at age 16 when I decided to go to London for a summer course. Airbnb seems like a good way to get in touch with the locals and learn about the city they live in. Similar to (website hidden), really!

In daily life I work for the Belgian federal government. I am a translator at Belgium's National Statistical Institute. Boring as it sounds, I love my job, because I get in contact with different texts from different fields (not only economics, but also legal stuff, internal HR stuff and so on), I love a linguistic challenge and I often get to see the results of my hard work in the media the following day.

Most of my free time goes to (website hidden) (a Dutch car website), music (I play bass in a hardcore punk band - but I'm open to lots of things, even acoustic and classical music! - which brings me in touch with people from all over the world and gets me to places I would normally never go to) and spending time with friends. I'm also an outdoor enthusiast, I love hiking, running and mountain biking. The rest of my time - if I have any left, that is - goes to reading all sorts of magazines and books and watching HBO series and movies. I have also recently discovered something that could turn into a new hobby: impro theatre! I've only just started following courses, but I can't wait to learn more.

Favorites:

Movies: European movies, The Godfather, Joel & Ethan Coen movies, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Guy Ritchie and Jason Statham stuff (mugs wiv a cockney accent, innit?), 80s and 90s movie nostalgia and Judd Apatow movies.

Music: Mainly hardcore punk but I'm also interested in punk rock, 90s emo, some metal and more experimental stuff, 60s and 70s garage rock. And singer-songwriters.

Books: I enjoy classic literature, I don't like analysing it. I am also a fan of Jeremy Clarkson's talent for dividing opinions, and I enjoy reading a fair bit of non-fiction and magazines.

I've already travelled to nearly all countries in Western Europe, except for Portugal and Scandinavia. Outside Europe I've visited the US twice (NY-Boston and DC-Philly) and I also went to Morocco. I have a cousin who lives in Namibia, so I'd love to go there one day. I also want to visit South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

I am very easy to deal with: I've slept in hostel dorms amidst 10 noisy Spanish people, on kitchen floors of people I'd just met and on couches, but also in five-star hotels. I also have people in bands over to sleep at my house from time to time, so I understand what it's like to trust a total stranger into your own private space. I am therefore very respectful towards other people and their homes, as I would want the same from my guests!

Travel experiences that come to mind: together with a few friends I couchsurfed through Switzerland and stayed in an apartment that was converted to a minimalist zen space: nothing but a hammock, some pillows on the floor and a huge projector and screen. Ate fondue the entire night. Once a few friends and myself rode bikes through downtown Philadelphia at 1 in the morning on deserted 5-lane streets. I drove a car through the Atlas mountains in Morocco and instantly fell in love with the country.

My next travel plan: drive along the entire west coast of the US! Together with two friends I'll be travelling to Vancouver, get on the train to Seattle, rent a car and drive all the way down to San Diego. We're all in our late twenties and on different crossroads in life, so we thought it'd be amazing to go on this journey while we're still young and have very few responsibilities to hold us back.

  • 1
    1 Review