• Ruby
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 22
  • Facebook
    954 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    2 Reviews
About Me
School
Wheaton College graduate
Languages
English, Español, Français, עברית
Hey, I'm Ruby!
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States · Member since July 2012

I'm from New York State, United States. I'm 26.

I spent the last two years working at a University with deaf students. I learned how many different ways there are to communicate with others during this time. There is the possibility for connection, even when there are language barriers.

I recently walked the Camino de Santiago, a 1000 km pilgrimage across Spain. This was a physical and spiritual endurance quest, but it was also an opportunity to truly know the land around me. Walking is slow--and when you spend two weeks walking through wheat fields, you know wheat differently. You know what it looks like before sunrise, and how it whispers when the wind blows, and all the shades of yellow it can be. The wheat taught me how to appreciate the nuance in repetition. It taught me to appreciate subtlety. I think this is part of why I love traveling so much. The world, and all the people you meet along your way, become your teachers. I am so grateful for all that I have learned.

I adore cooking and sharing food with others.

I love dancing, hiking, doing yoga, biking, and just strolling. I'm interested in living healthfully. I practice energy medicine, which is like reiki.

I write poetry and am always reading. Most recently, I have fallen in love with the poet Adrienne Rich. I am already in love with spoken word artist Andrea Gibson. Youtube her right now. Your life will be changed.

I love painting and art in general.

I love mostly all music. My brother and I used to have a radio show, and it was always the highlight of my week. I could not live without my family.

I love coffee and tea and coziness and conversation.

For 4 years, I lived in houses with 8-11 other people. I'm used to sharing space with others. 'm clean, flexible, relaxed, and responsible.

I've traveled a fair bit over the past few years. For the most part, I have volunteered on farms through WWOOF. I love working with the land and meeting people. That is my traveling style. I studied abroad in Paris, and lived with a host family. That was also a great traveling experience. I'm still learning my style, I suppose.

I'm currently living and teaching English in Rehovot, Israel...

I enjoy spending time with hosts when they are available or interested, but I'm also very self-sufficient and enjoy spending time alone wandering as well.

I look forward to meeting you!

  • 2
    2 Reviews
  • 1 Reference