Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    69
  • Facebook
    412 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    10 Reviews
About Me
School
St.Edward's School, Oxford, UK
Work
Audi Akademie
Hey, I'm Elspeth!
Ingolstadt, Bayern, Germany · Member since July 2012

My name is Elspeth, I'm 33, originally from near Oxford, England, but have lived in Bavaria, Germany since early 2009. My boyfriend Bernie is German, hence the move to Bavaria. We originally met in Brighton, England, where I both studied and worked for 10 years. I teach English as a foreign language to Audi employees. My main interests include travelling, sport of all varieties including swimming, running, triathlons, skiing and hiking, art, theatre and cooking.

Travelling:-
I have done a fair bit of travelling. I've been to Australia, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, the US and many European countries such as France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Austria, the Czech Republic, Switzerland and Iceland. I think that one of the most fascinating and beautiful countries that I've ever visited was Iceland. The landscape is so diverse, from huge ancient lava fields, to glaciers and the lush greenery of the south. Reykjavik is also a fantastic place to visit and party with the locals. They really know how to party!! My boyfriend and I also love going on long weekend city trips. We're based near Munich, which is very central to the rest of Europe and therefore it doesn't take long to get to all sorts of exciting cities. Vienna, Berlin, Zurich, Prague and Venice are all within 5 hours drive. We therefore make the most of the fortunate position we're in.

Sport:-
I've been into sport of different varieties since I can remember. I played a lot of team sports whilst at school including hockey, lacrosse and tennis. Since leaving school, I haven't been as involved in team sports, but still love keeping fit through swimming, running, cycling and working out. I recently took part in my first Olympic distance triathlon with a friend. It was such a fantastic experience that I'm keen to continue with this.

I also make the most of living near the mountains and took up skiing four years ago after moving to Germany. It's only a couple of hours to the slopes from us so we often head down for a day or weekend skiing session at weekends in the winter season.

Being surrounded by such beautiful countryside means that we also like to go hiking during the warmer months.

Art and theatre:-
My boyfriend and I love visiting art exhibitions and the theatre when we get the chance. Although Ingolstadt (where we live) doesn't have that much to offer art wise, it has a pretty good theatre with some great productions now and then. If we want more of an art fix, we either head to Munich, which is a 45 minute drive away, or further afield to Berlin. We saw a fantastic Gerhard Richter exhibition during our last trip to Berlin.

Cooking:-
I love cooking, probably as much as I love eating!! I suppose that my preferred cuisine is Mediterranean. I love the fresh flavours and vibrant colours. I'm also not adverse to Middle Eastern and Indian food every now and then. My dream is to have a little cafe where I can cook to my heart's content.

As guests:-
Both my boyfriend and I are very open, friendly and enjoy meeting new people. We are clean, tidy and courteous and would treat any host's place as we would expect our place to be treated, i.e. with respect.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to mail me. I'm happy to fill you in on anything you want to know.

  • 10
    10 Reviews