• Bruce
Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 20
  • Reviewed
    6 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info

Hey, I’m Bruce!

Bakersfield, California, United States · Member since July 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

Recently retired local government attorney (3 years). Wife Kathy retired from teaching 4 years ago. We have been married for 43 years now. We do not smoke or drink. We have two aging Siamese cats. We love to travel, and plan to do more now that we have more time and while our health is good enough for strenuous travel like our recent visit to Macchu Pichu. We have three married sons and a total of three grandchildren. We have a weekend house on the California coast in Grover Beach and love being near the ocean. I grew up in Santa Barbara California and Kathy in Fresno California. I have a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering from UC Santa Barbara and A Master's Degree in Sociology from Brigham Young University. I got my law degree in 1976 from the University of Utah. Kathy has a History degree from UCSB in 1971 (where we met), got her teaching credential at Fullerton State and and a Masters in Education from Cal State Bakersfield. Kathy loves to quilt and plays golf. I play golf, garden and have a small sailboat. We walk two miles a day for exercise and Kathy goes to the gym while I work out in the local aquatics center. We are both active in our church. I teach Sunday School for adults and Kathy is part of the local leadership of the church women's organization. We both sing in the church choir.

In the last couple of years we have been to Peru (including the Andes and the Amazon portion), Southern Mexico, Guatemala, Hawaii, Alaska and British Columbia, Ireland, Greece and Turkey, and all over California and Utah. We were in Montreal and the St Lawrence gulf October of 2012 and visited Australia, NZ and Fiji in January 2013, followed by a Panama Canal cruise/transit in March 2013. In October 2013 ,we did a 35 day Route 66 road trip in our minivan with no fixed itinerary, ending up in New Orleans after turning east in St. Louis, then back across Texas to Bakersfield. In January 2014 we spent 30 days in South America on a Holland America cruise which also cruised for 6 days south of Cape Horn in Antarctica. We were in western Europe for 30 days in May and June of 2014, including cruising the western Norway coast. In April 2015 we visited the People's Republic of China on a 24 day tour. Mostly with small tour groups but also often organized on our own. We prefer ordinary commercial B and Bs to hotels and enjoy interaction with local hosts. Kathy can get by in Spanish and I know a few words of French from my long ago High School classes. We prefer museums and local historical or cultural sights over nightclubs and partying.

We tend to travel light, enjoying the Rick Steves temporary local concept. We have not participated in any airbnb hosting yet but may host at our weekend house on the central California coast or at our home in Bakersfield if it works out.