• Gail
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 24
  • Facebook
    658 Friends
  • Reviewed
    16 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Passport
About Me
Languages
English, Português
Gail's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Gail

Hey, I’m Gail!

Porto, Portugal · Member since July 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

Hi, I'm from Ireland but have been living and working in Porto, Portugal, since 2010. I teach English as a foreign language, and live with my Portuguese partner, Marco (a Porto native), and my 19-year-old son, Jordan. We have a lovely, old dog called Amália, and a very opinionated Siamese cat called Salomé - both are rescue animals! :-)

We love socialising with friends, meeting new people and having pot luck dinners. I only speak English, but am trying to learn Portuguese. Marco speaks Portuguese and English, and he can also understand Spanish. Jordan speaks English and Portuguese.

Marco & I have had three Airbnb adventures - all private rooms, so we get the benefit of a local's insider info. We're also hosts ourselves, and really enjoy sharing our local knowledge of Porto, a place we love, with our guests :-)

We have an eclectic and wide taste in music, and, so far, Barcelona is one of our favourite destinations.

Marco and I are polite and friendly. We also understand what it's like to have visitors staying in our house, so we know how to behave when we're the guests!

My favourite book at the minute is The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls (I thoroughly recommend you read it), although Memoirs of Geisha is incredible too. Marco's a big fan of Chuck Palahniuk. We love movies and TV shows, like The Walking Dead, Breaking Bad & Game of Thrones - the usual stuff. But most of all we love to learn about new things, people and cultures.

One of our favourite meals is a Northern Portuguese dish called Francesinha. It's a heart attack on a plate, but it's delicious! Best come to Porto and experience it for yourself. Hopefully we'll either you meet you at yours, or you at ours, some time in the near future.