• Bernadette
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 39
  • Reviewed
    18 Reviews
About Me
School
Hunter College of the City University of New York
Languages
Español, Français, Italiano
Bernadette's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Bernadette
Hey, I'm Bernadette!
New York, New York, United States · Member since July 2009
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am a Native New Yorker (yes, I was born and raised here!) and have lived in Boston, Paris and Los Angeles and speak a bit of French and Spanish and about two words of Italian. I work in the legal field. I went to culinary school to study pastry many years ago and now I just bake cookies at Christmas when I have the time!

I have traveled to over 60 countries, go away to my house in Pennsylvania on many weekends and like meeting new people.

As to the listings on AIRBNB: I have one "Supersize Studio" on the Upper East Side, which is a walk-up and has no doorman and I do not live there. The building is approximately 50 years old. The entire apartment is at your disposal. There is a queen sized bed, a table and chairs and it is perfect for a sole occupant needing a home-away-from-home. It is in Yorkville, home of the old Austrian and Hungarian and German bakeries, long gone. On Saturdays, at Saint Stephen's, which is opposite the apartment, there is a market which is wonderful. Otherwise, you have more than enough small cute places to eat and hang out and if you are a couple of young single people, all the bars and restaurants you might want to go to until closing are on Second Avenue, one block over. This apartment is a very large studio with high ceilings and faces north to a garden, which is quiet. It comes with linens and dishes and has a small kitchen. There is a $60 cleaning fee and a $500security deposit required. AIRBNB collects the security and I ask you pre-pay the cleaning fee on arrival in cash.

So as to avoid confusion, the second listing, "Paris in New York" location is my home and about which I speak below and this is the apartment which has been reviewed the most. I no longer allow it to be rented.

I traveled to Europe the first time on my own via SERVAS many years ago and have not forgotten the kindness of the people I met then. I hope to reciprocate and make new friends!

Please contact me if you are interested in staying at one of my places. You MUST be a non-smoker but smoking is allowed in front of the building outside if you are desperate.

Please have your profile here. It is easier if I know something about who you are, where you live and what you do. If I don't know something about you, it's hard for me to answer a request to stay quickly, since I like to have a level of comfort renting.

I've known one friend who lives in Abu Dhabi who I met via SERVAS over 30 years now. I expect to know my AirBNB guests just as long!

Thanks for your interest!

As to the other listings: the apartment in Paris (Chatelet) is not available again until 2015. It is rented a minimum of six months. The apartment in Hossegor, in the Southwest of France, is available off-season each year from October until May.

The Victorian house in northeast Pennsylvania is available on select weeks if you are interested in skiing at Elk Mountain, which is 20 minutes up the hill on Route 106 from Carbondale.

Just ask me!