Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 86
  • Positively Reviewed
    131 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
Cal Poly Pomona, B.S. in Hotel and Restaurant Management; Monterey Institute of International Studies, M.A. in International Policy Studies; several teaching credentials including History/Social Studies & Business
Work
8th grade Social Studies / History Teacher
Languages
English, Español
Hey, I'm Teri & Gabby!
Seaside, California, United States · Member since June 2012

I am an 8th grade Social Studies teacher at a local, public middle school. I teach U.S. History and (sometimes) World History. My daughter and I live in a small duplex on the former Fort Ord base. We share our home with a cat (Ginger) who loves to have her chin scratched, and a dog (Bella) who will wag her tail and love you instantly. FYI, Bella is a small, quiet dog ... she is older, and has only barked three times in the last year. Really!

We have a busy schedule that includes a lot of time spent at my daughter's dance studio (she does ballet, pointe, jazz, tap, contemporary, and lyrical). My daughter speaks Spanish and is also learning to mountain bike.

We love to go hiking in the local area. If I had all the time in the world, I would do more quilting. I am a former National Park Service ranger and one of our favorite places to visit is my former work site: Yosemite National Park. We go camping there at least once a year. If you are planning to go to Yosemite National Park as a part of your trip, I would be happy to assist with travel info. I have noticed that many international visitors make hotel reservations at locations that are a VERY long drive from Yosemite Valley; perhaps I can make some suggestions to you to save you some driving time.

We love to travel. Gabby and I have been to Oregon, Washington, Colorado, Nevada, Virginia, Washington, D.C, New York City, and Denmark. We have gone by planes, trains, and automobiles (as well as car ferry). We have stayed in fancy hotels, campgrounds, youth hostels, people's homes, Motel 6, and even a teepee. Each expereince is different, and each is an adventure.

When I was younger, I had three study abroad experiences: in Belgium (the summer after high school), in Denmark (a year of college), and in France (a summer internship in grad school). All three involved living with a host family, and all three deeply shaped the person I am today. Part of why I would like to host travelers is to "pay it forward," to thank those who gave me a place to stay.

Lauguages spoken: my daughter is able to help you with Spanish, however, I don't speak it. I used to speak some Danish and French, but both are very rusty from lack of use.

Another reason to stay with us is to help a single mother pay for braces and ballet : ) Staying with us will help my daughter continue with her dance lessons and competitions. We are grateful for your consideration and look forward to having you visit us soon!

  • 131
    131 Reviews
  • 3 References
  • Verified ID