• Jim
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 41
  • Reviewed
    5 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Driver License
About Me
School
B.A. Psychology, M.A. Clinical Counseling Psychology
Work
Clinical social worker
Languages
English
Jim's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Jim
Hey, I'm Jim!
Hollywood, Florida, United States · Member since June 2012
You have reported this user. Undo?

Cool, low-key, curious, intelligent guy planning a several months trek through Europe beginning late 2013. This will be my first extended travel experience.

I plan on going as far and to as many places as my cash, interest and endurance will take me, but I'd like to stay at least one week on each stop to absorb as much local culture as possible. For me sightseeing ranks a distant second to simple human interaction. My current itinerary includes the following: Stockholm, Copenhagen, Amsterdam, Normandy, Paris, French Riviera, Berlin, Munich, Innsbruck, Vienna, Prague, Budapest, Bucharest, Rome and Florence. If I can make it to Greece that would be cool too. So, landing in all of those places and spending only a week in each, I'm looking at 4 months, but I'm certain some of them will interest me enough to hang out longer.

I have great respect for other people and enjoy good, honest conversation and laughter. Learning about and experiencing different cultures, customs and philosophies are high on my interests list. I also love history -- all periods and all parts of the world -- and film, especially European. "The Celebration","The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" trilogy, "Europa! Europa!" and "Noordzee, Texas" are among my favorites. Spent a year in Central America working with an NGO in the barrios of Guatemala City and San Salvador after high school during which my eyes were opened to how much the world outside of the U.S. has to teach me. I've been all over the U.S., several times to the Caribbean, Ireland and England, and have wandered to Hawaii and Samoa, but haven't yet been to mainland Europe.

I drive a 7 year old Volvo s40 T5 (6-speed manual) which I've had since she was "born" -- in fact I care for her like she was a baby. Still beautiful and absolutely the best car I've ever owned. I enjoy outdoor stuff like hiking, camping and especially being near an ocean. Road trips get my heart pumping, as does my totally irregular exercise routine. Don't really care much for junk food, but also don't eat enough vegetables. My favorite music genres are R&B, pop and classical (Bach, Handel and Mozart rule!). I *was* a huge disco fan, but I no longer admit that to anyone but my closest friends. :)

Last summer I built my own computer from scratch. Never did it before but jumped in with both feet and a cocky attitude and, well, it all turned out pretty good. I use the rig mostly for flight simulation, which is one of my passions, though I'll never be a real pilot because I lack that calm-under-pressure gene. But, you can't die in a simulation, so, there you go.

The world would be a better place without: rudeness, pretentiousness, rigidity, bigotry, narcissism, and the (U.S.) Republican Party :)

One of my favorite sayings is: "Walk a mile in the other guy's shoes before you seek to enlighten him."

While I'm definitely not a party-animal, I totally like hanging out with a few friends to swap stories, discuss film and current events, and share some beers and laughs. I think I'd be an interesting guest and/or travel bud. I'm not much of a compulsive, but I promise that you won't have to clean up after me :)

I look forward to meeting you and hope, after sharing a bit of time together, you'll feel it was time well spent.