• Hilary
Verified ID
  • Email address
  • Phone number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 60
  • Facebook
    824 Friends
  • Reviewed
    16 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Driver License
About Me
Buhler High, Instituto de Educacion Secundaria Vilatzara, Universidad San Francisco de Quito, Goshen College
ASL/English Interpreter. Grant Project Coordinator.
English, Español, Sign Language
Hilary's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Hilary!

I'm an interpreter who's been in DC since 2008. I love it here!
I speak a couple languages, have lived with 30 roommates at my last count (I've lived in 3 different group houses with month-to-month leases, & lots of subleasers).
Luckily, I really like people!

As a guest:
I treat your place like my own. I do my best to be a very considerate guest, and to be understanding and helpful if anything comes up that we need to solve together while I'm staying in someone's place. I'm a host too, so I take care to be the guest I'd want to host :). I like to be independent and interactive, as much as the two can be balanced. I often prefer to do my own thing, but love to chat with a host and learn about their hometown through their eyes too. I've done a lot of couchsurfing and couch-hosting in my days.

As hosts:

About us:
If I had a life motto I think it'd be either "Get involved. Be content." or "There, but for the grace of Fortune, go I." My roommate's would likely be "So it goes." We're all doing our own life adventures, and it's nice when we can connect them.

I've lived in Spain, Ecuador, & Belize, but I grew up in Nevada & Kansas (with a stop in Indiana for college). I know Spanish, English, and American Sign Language. My roommate is a friendly, laid-back bilingual technical trainer (self-employed). He is originally from Texas and studied abroad in Spain the same time I did, right after high school. He has also traveled all over the world as a solo adventurer. He speaks English and Spanish and has never met a stranger.

We love conversation, intercultural connections, advocacy work, eating with friends, going dancing on occasion, [learning to] play an instrument, and being outside in the sunshine. We also admittedly spend a good amount of time reading the internet! (and books).

Guest interaction:
We also love hosting! We're often busy with my work or friends, so we can't always be very active tour guides, but we're always happy to give all the local pointers and grab some social time together if guests are interested. Many events we go to in the city are come-along-if-you-like type things too, so that's an option. Guests who want more of a hotel-type, independent experience without the social interaction are just fine too.

Who's welcome: All!
Also, though it might go without saying, sometimes it's helpful to say it, so:
We are an anti-discrimination household. All are welcome-- regardless of race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, national origin, family status, disability (tho we are regretfully not a very accessible building- one flight of stairs in the front door), etc. Come on in!